Review: EJ’s Luncheonette, NYC

Kathy Leonardo
EatTravelGo.com
Published in
3 min readJan 2, 2019

--

Born and raised in the Big Apple, every time I return to the city I have a hankering for some good ole New York pastrami, and I know just where to go. EJ‘s luncheonette is a New York City institution.

Open Faced Hot Pastrami Reuben at EJ’s Luncheonette; photo by Kathy Leonardo; courtesy of ETG;

I arrived longing for a classic NY Reuben, and EJ’s did not disappoint. This open faced hot pastrami sandwich was superb…the warm pastrami just melted in my mouth as it mingled with the tartness of the sauerkraut and the sweetness of the Russian dressing. The melted Swiss embraced the entire dish…culminating in a perfect union of deliciousness.

Egg Burrito, EJ’s Luncheonette; photo by Kathy Leonardo; courtesy of ETG;

My dining companions also raved about their meals. I was told the breakfast burrito (scrambled eggs, whole wheat tortilla, cheddar, onions, peppers, and salsa) was amazing. I did sneak a bite of the EJ’s famous Chicken Salad, which was quite tasty. EJ’s Luncheonette does a brilliant job paying homage to my favorite classic dishes.

Chicken Salad Sandwich, EJ’s Luncheonette; photo by Kathy Leonardo; courtesy of ETG;

Founded twenty-six years ago, this well-known restaurant is frequented by loyal long time New York residents. “It’s like one big family…

--

--

Kathy Leonardo
EatTravelGo.com

A freelance journalist for fifteen years, Kathy founded www.LAArtParty.com which spotlights all types of events, art, music, theatre, dining, travel, etc.