Readme.txt

Erik Kaju
Ebook note exports
Published in
2 min readMar 18, 2018

Eventually we forget what we read. Have you ever read a book twice to experience the emotion you once had? It’s unnecessary when you’ve just finished one. But I assume many of us happen to do it when book-related memories and emotions get diluted over time. We remember that the overall impression was strong but the recollection of the content has become hazy. Once done, we do not just restore the original mnemonic state, but as well often, due to new experiences in life, see it all from different angle or discover something completely new.

I found out that reading my own personal notes/highlights marked in books, is actually extremely effective way of recalling the whole book. It’s like letting your brain instantly reload and defragment the memblocks holding book emotions/memories in the deepest corners of your brain. You remember the notes and also lots of unmarked content between them. Even years later, fresh and crisp remembrance can be resurrected, with ridiculously minimal time and effort.

Digital books have features that make them superior to old-school paper predecessors. The ability to make notes, draw and highlight part of the text, is a real killer-feature for me. All that is possible in paper books as well but there it is all physically tied to a book unless manually extracted or digitalised. In digital book, the note is digital right away. It can be exported, transferred, sorted, transformed etc. And that’s what makes notes in ebook so powerful — they are much more reusable and practically applicable.

So I decided to keep re-reading my favorite titles. As I travel a lot, there’s always a risk that something might happens to my ebook. To never ever lose my notes, I decided to export and expose them. Once on the Internet, forever permanent, right?

This medium just holds personal book notes/highlights, shared on the public Internet. I don’t have any certain approach for highlighting. It may be a deep point or just a single word that I liked. Obviously I utilise them in my own way but anyone else may use them to get an impression about the title, the style of writing etc.

--

--

Erik Kaju
Ebook note exports

Tech lead, solution architect and product engineering manager in the fintech industry. Boardsports, fast cars, robot building and tennis outside work.