Good things, dreams and changing the world around us

A scenic route through suburban business change and Star Wars pilates

Jason Mesut
Eclectical
7 min readDec 21, 2023

--

It’s my wife Kelly’s birthday today so I’ll try be quick. I did start to write something last night, but I felt really awkward sharing it as it went a little too personal. I do have some boundaries.

I also have a limited window before we pick up the youngest from school, pick up a parcel, and then head to the cinema to see Wonka.

For our short amount of time together today, I booked a lovely brunch at Megan’s, one of Kelly’s favourite spots in Richmond. And it was dog friendly.

Megans in Richmond. A nice new chain that is opening in certain affluent areas.

I told her about it this morning amongst the present opening, and I suggested we walk the youngest to school, and then go from there into Richmond. About an hour and a half of walking one way, and an hour back. Kelly loves a long walk. Me less so. Unless I’m somewhere new.

For those that don’t know where Twickenham and Richmond are, they are close to Heathrow Airport in the West of London. Also many spots we passed through today featured heavily in much of Ted Lasso. I’ve even done some Ted Lasso tours for friends when visiting from US.

Church Street, Twickenham used a few times in Ted Lasso and featuring in Kelly’s photoshoot a few years back

Taking the scenic route

After drop off, we took a route through the cemetery near the school. Stopped off for a coffee, at the pharmacist, and at the Lidl to get something for the dog to chew on while we ate.

The weather was mild, but grey. A little bit of pathetic rain. But not the sort of beauty that the area can really offer up in the summer or spring.

As we came back, we took the scenic route by the river, and the discussions started to get a bit deeper. Meanwhile, the dog was a bit excitable on the lead. Bringing us back to the shallow talk.

The changing landscapes of our towns and cities

On the journey, we walked past the stationery shop in Twickenham that had been there for 40 years, but was now completely cleared. The family owners had placed a set of four chairs by the window to look out from. I wanted to get a photo yesterday when I saw them in there towards the back. It was just a little awkward. End of an era.

The cute little Star Print. And yes, I did buy a lot of stationery from there.

I noticed a lot of change as I walked through Twickenham and Richmond. A range of commercial properties closing, or changing their nature. The pro dog Wags and Tails vegan pub had become another curry establishment. Massive shame. Although I hear it’s good. The poke bowl shop on Richmond bridge closed down. A new Megans opening in Twickenham. Nice, but would it last? And my wife told me of the Yoga bar that had recently had to shut down due to rent increases. A club she was very fond of. Even using it as a setting for some lovely photos for her yoga business. Many peoples’ dreams coming to an end.

One of my favourite photos of my wife holding a pose at the Yoga Bar

Star Wars Pilates?

As we approached the ‘Star Wars’ shop by Twickenham Green, I remembered a post I saw on Instagram last night about a Zero Gravity Pilates studio opening in 2024.

Zero Gravity actually superimposed their name on the Twickenham ‘Star Wars’ shop

The new Pilates studio ad, had seemingly superimposed its name on the shop. Initially, I was like, that’s the Star Wars shop, and I commented on someone else’s similar realisation — ‘If it’s Star Wars Pilates I might be up for it’ I suggested.

Had to be done.
Sorry, got distracted

But I was worried that this little shop was actually going to be replaced. This little treasure of Twickenham.

‘The Star Wars shop’ is actually Shepperton Design Studios.

An Industrial Designer, named Andrew Ainsworth who made the original moulds for the Stormtrooper helmets won a legal dispute with George Lucas to recreate helmets from his mould. As long as it was outside of US.

A shot of the shop with some helmets outside

Check the wide range of Star Wars goods at https://www.originalstormtrooper.com/

And read more about the story here: https://www.originalstormtrooper.com/our-story-46-w.asp

We decided to walk by the side of the shop. I’d never done that before and I’ve walked past this place hundreds of times.

Some of the goodies on display
More than stormtrooper helmets
A strange little shop. Still haven’t been in.

We tried to guess at whether the pilates would be done upstairs. Either way, we are both interested in Zero Gravity Pilates. Whatever that is.

When I got to this point in my writing today, I had no idea of what this post was really about. Maybe if you are interested in Star Wars, intellectual property, designer exploitation or Zero Gravity Pilates there might be something for you.

But then I had a break. We went to the cinema to see Wonka. And a few things suddenly fell into place, inspired by some lines in the film. Please forgive me if I fluff them a little.

https://www.magicalquote.com/moviequotes/every-good-thing-in-this-world-started-with-a-dream/

Every good thing in this world started with a dream…

The greedy beat the needy…

Until you change the world…

Every good thing in this world started with a dream

Whether or not you believe this to be true. The Yoga Bar, Star Wars, Zero Gravity Pilates, Megans, Shepperton Design studios, the stationery shop, Kelly’s yoga business, and even my own in its various carnations. I believe they all started from a dream, or at least an idea, filled with hope. Creating their own little good in the world.

The greedy beat the needy

Unfortunately, as many of us experience on a regular basis, the greedy often beat the needy.

It’s often the greediness of certain people in this world that might deprive the needy of those dreams lasting. Whether that’s dictators, rich crooks, chocolate cartels or just people trying to pay off their many mortgage and retiring early putting their needs way above the people they exploit.

Until you change the world

I’m not a big believer of grand narratives of destroying capitalism, or hoping the world will unite and be filled with love that will create some genuine equality for all.

But I do believe that it takes certain dreams to change the world in all sorts of ways. And I believe we each have potential to influence things in a better way. However slight.

Maybe one thing to ponder is how our towns and cities are changing.

What do we need them to be in the future?

And who will be involved in the change?

How much do we hold onto the past? From a point of nostalgia? Or pursue healthy ‘progress’ whatever that is?

And what part do you want to play in all that?

What are your dreams? And how do you intend to change the world? Or take advantage of enjoying it as it is? Even if that is Star Wars Pilates.

And i’m pretty sure that to have those dreams and wrestle with the trickier aspects of bringing them to life, and keeping them alive, takes a fair few scenic routes. Rather than the direct, efficient, focused ones we often take.

This post is part of an advent calendar challenge I have set for myself. Writing and publishing one piece a day. Whatever emerges. Although sometimes I may work on an idea sparked on another day. An exercise in getting back into the writing groove. But also re-finding my voice. Lowering the barriers of my ego getting in the way of what might be valuable for others, or at least me.

You can check the other pieces here on the ‘Eclectical’ Medium publication.

I am a coach, a product-service strategy consultant, a community connector and so many other things. You can find out more about me, my many interests and how to connect them with yours here.

--

--

Jason Mesut
Eclectical

I help people and organizations navigate their uncertain futures. Through coaching, futures, design and innovation consulting.