Slow motion multi-tasking for the creatively curious

An antidote to toxic niche narratives?

Jason Mesut
Eclectical
3 min readDec 2, 2023

--

One of the references I share most to my coachees (coaching clients) is the brilliant Ted Talk on Slow Motion Multi-Tasking by Tim Harford.

One of my favourite references for creatively curious folk I coach and connect with

Tim is an economist, author, podcast host and incredible storyteller. In this talk, he shares stories of creative geniuses and their multiple interests. Many of these interests culminate in side projects. Some of which have huge impact to the world over a great deal of time. Whether it’s David Bowie, Charles Darwin, or Michael Crichton, the creator of Jurassic Park. Amongst many more.

I share this with a lot of my coachees because they often feel conflicted about their many interests. ‘Doing too much’ being one of the messages they often relay. In our hustle-culture capitalist world, there are a lot of narratives that can make people feel bad about themselves. Especially if they relate to one of the many labels you can apply to these creatively curious folk. Eg, Polymath, Multi-potentialite, Renaissance person or Neogeneralists.

Some of these narratives include niching down, finding your why, developing your personal brand or becoming a thought leader known for that one thing. I’m sorry, but it isn’t as easy as those influencers, writers and speakers often portray. Not in my experience anyway. And I would argue can become toxic for those of multiple interests.

I have been made to feel bad over recent years for my many interests. From some fellow creative peers even. ‘You do too much’. ‘What even are you?’ ‘I don’t know who you are’.

Logically, the niche, focused, personal brand narratives make sense. Find the thing you want to focus on. A good Ikigai mix of what you enjoy, what the world needs, etc. Then double down and become an expert. Focus on that. Increase your value. Give customers confidence in what they are buying.

Most of the things I’ve read, listened to and watched make so much sense to so many. Including me at times. However, they often make me feel uncomfortable.

I remember in one of the Level C Brand Courses, one of my fellow students using Marty Neumeier’s three questions to introduce ourselves.

  • Who are you?
  • What do you do?
  • Why does it matter?
I’m a big fan of Marty. He writes beautifully, he teaches clearly, and he critiques beautifully

I’m sorry, but it’s hard enough for an organisation to do this. But for an individual human, I think it can be dangerously reductive.

Not to say I don’t find the questions useful. I have been using them in my presentations recently around self reflection. They provide a nice simple, reductive frame. But there’s a lot to each of them.

The reason I find the niche narratives toxic for some people is I believe they can limit you. Especially if you choose the wrong niche. Or your passions change. You may have limited serendipity. Invaluable opportunities missed before you really know what you want.

Many people I have known just take a long time to learn about themselves. Who they really are. What they really want to, or enjoy doing. And why it really matters for them, and the world.

Over the years, I have realised I am my own niche. I haven’t quite defined my grand narrative, but I know it’s not going to be in the more obvious categories, or boxes. UX Designer. Product Manger. Coach for design leaders. Strategist. These titles are jot my identity.

An image I created for my most recent versions of a classic talk I give

Tim’s slow motion multi-tasking Ted Talk helps normalise things for people. Normalising the emergent discovery of purpose, immense value creation and personal creativity over longer periods of time.

It also provides some tips for managing your multiple interests, so it doesn’t weigh you down too much.

I even listened to a podcast yesterday with Tim on it, that went into this further, and into the world of ‘mess’, and piling over filing. But that’s another topic for another day. Maybe another door of this year’s advent calendar.

Once you’ve checked the Ted Talk and are pulled in, check out the Hurry Slowly podcast with Tim Harford here: https://open.spotify.com/episode/7kKZa3wwnHfLcICDZlWfiw?si=930868dfacc148b0

--

--

Jason Mesut
Eclectical

I help people and organizations navigate their uncertain futures. Through coaching, futures, design and innovation consulting.