The Sketchy First Draft

Embracing imperfections and early ideas in writing to increase momentum in making meaningful progress

Jason Mesut
Eclectical
3 min readDec 3, 2023

--

It’s only day three of my writing challenge and I’ve already hit a few walls getting something written and publishable.

Maybe it was the Sunday lie-in. Losing a package on the way home from the delivery lockers and then trying to find it again. And failing. Waiting on the sidelines in the cold rain watching my son play his second football match. Or just not having the headspace, energy and urgency to get something done.

I sketched out a few things I could write about. I started writing one rather risky piece. And then the fear built. It was a subject too dangerous to do half-arsed. One for later in the month then, maybe. Or maybe it is only something I talk about writing. One of the many topics.

The metaphorical sketches around my head as I write. My office spaces are rarely tidier.

And so here I am on Sunday evening in a pub in Twickenham. Escaping the noisy kitchen at home, with a few minutes to spare before meeting a Group of Humans colleague who happens to be staying in the area. I order a pint, and start writing. Writing something.

A sketch on my office wall — so many uses for these metaphors

On the way to the pub I drop some stuff off at my office, and I notice a sketch on the wall. Of seeds, trees, plants and growth from past experiences. How could this relate?

So many people I meet these days struggle with finding their voice. Limiting their sharing of their experiences and perspectives with the world. Whether on stage or in writing. Fear of not saying anything new. Or anything good. Or adding to the noise already so prevalent in our world right now. ‘Who wants to hear what I have to say?’ they may relay.

There’s a vulnerability and loneliness that can come from sharing your voice. It can feel so risky. But we rarely calculate the risks of not sharing our voice or our perspectives.

Well. That is a challenge for sure. A feedback loop of likes and appreciation can help build confidence. But if you have a limited audience, you may get nothing back. But then, what does it matter?

Someone I met last year told me of her struggle to find her voice. She shared a beautifully empowering perspective. ‘What if I wrote (and shared) like noone was reading?’ Or words to that effect. Similar to the lovely ‘dance like noone is watching’.

How freeing.

So often, the power is in the externalisation. External appreciation, validation and critique can help. But the expression itself is progress. Rather than thoughts swirling in your head. How do they change or shift when written? Would you feel more relieved? Could you engage with the ideas differently?

What would it feel like to be able to see all your thoughts, growing over time?

It’s like the power of sketching in design or art. Making a mark. Any mark. It’s progress. A chunk of the metaphorical elephant. A small step towards a bigger leap. It’s movement.

So, whether you call it your crappy (or shitty) first draft, a sketch, a prototype, a mark, a prop for progress. or something better — ask yourself, is it better out than in? Not just for others. But for yourself.

I believe we can suppress too much. Leaving it to the articulate advocates, and well-rehearsed thought leaders to dominate thinking space. Refined regurgitation winning over naive, or at least lighter, novelty.

Maybe those early ideas can lead to others. For others. Or yourself.

Well, that’s what I am telling myself. And at least it means I’ve completed the challenge for today.

--

--

Jason Mesut
Eclectical

I help people and organizations navigate their uncertain futures. Through coaching, futures, design and innovation consulting.