Che at EclipseCon 2019 — Part 3 — Roland Grunberg and Eclipse JDT

Sun S. D. Tan
Eclipse Che Blog
Published in
3 min readOct 17, 2019

Hello Eclipse Community,

EclipseCon 2019 is next week! The speakers are polishing their talks. You have probably started to make your agenda for the coming week. As far as I am concerned, I am getting very excited to meet you, share my love of Che7 and see awesome talks.

Roland Grunberg

Talking about awesome talks, there is one that I would love to attend: the one from my dear colleague: Roland Grunberg.

Roland, with his Romanian background, is coming from Toronto, Canada and works for Red Hat as a Software Developer in the IDE Services team. His talk is going to be about Eclipse JDT. Let’s hear from him what he will present during his talk:

Sun: Hello Roland, I hope you are doing well. Will it be your first time at EclipseCon ?

Roland: This will be my 2nd time going to EclipseCon Europe. Although I have been to EclipseCon France, and a few others in North America. Overall, I believe this is my 7th EclipseCon.

EclipseCon Boston 2012 was my first time at the conference. It was a bit stressful as it was my first one, but also because a colleague and I were presenting a tutorial (3hr session). So, we had a lot of material and preparation to ensure things went smoothly for the attendees.

Although the talks at EclipseCon have always given me interesting ideas, I’ve always felt the biggest value to the conference is in meeting face to face with the many members of the Eclipse community. It has always yielded useful discussions and spawned many ideas.

I think it is always satisfying to learn from people from other companies or from other parts of the world that you may not have ever spoken to. But that are following your work and are really appreciative of it.

Sun: How have you been involved into Eclipse Che?

Roland: My involvement has been mainly through contributing to the JDT (Java Development Tools) project at Eclipse which is used by JDT-LS (Language Server For JDT) to provide Java support in Che. Initially we intended to make it easier for JDT-LS to make use of some JDT APIs but over time realized that any effort to improve JDT can easily benefit Java developers using Che as well.

Sun: What is your favorite Che7 feature ?

Roland: While most of my development work requires I be using the Eclipse IDE, I think the switch to using Eclipse Theia as the frontend is pretty cool. In addition, making it easier to integrate existing VSCode extensions into Che.

Sun: What is your talk about and why should we attend your session ?

Roland: You can see an overview of my talk at https://www.eclipsecon.org/europe2019/sessions/jdt-service . It will focus on various efforts (refactoring, new features) to make Eclipse’s Java Development Tools useful for other IDEs through the Language Server Protocol (using JDT-LS). I think it’ll be a great opportunity for people to see that work being done and planned for JDT along with how it can greatly benefit other IDEs that use the LSP.

Thank you Roland. We are looking forward to see Eclipse JDT in action within Che and VSCode. Here are a few informations to keep up to date with Roland’s activities:

The next blog post will close this series. I will give you an insight of other Che related talks or topics you will hear about next week at the conference. I hope you have enjoyed the interviews and that you are getting as excited as I am. See you in a few days!

Get Involved!

Quick Start with Eclipse Che.

Join the community:

  • Support: You can ask questions, report bugs, and request features using GitHub issues.
  • Public Chat: Join the public eclipse-che Mattermost channel to discuss with community and contributors.
  • Weekly Meetings: Join us in our Che community meeting every second monday.
  • Mailing list: che-dev@eclipse.org

--

--

Sun S. D. Tan
Eclipse Che Blog

Senior Software Engineer @RedHat (tiny unit within @ibm) Eclipse Che committer. OpenSource Minded. @parisjug team leader