Ecomm Challenge Day 12 - Social Media

LostSociety
Ecomm Challenge
Published in
4 min readSep 6, 2017

I start the day with pretty much nothing. I have a handful of fans from Instagram outreach, and only myself on Facebook:

I’ve already decided that I am predominantly going to use Instagram and Facebook for this phase of the challenge. Instagram mainly for outreach and building a community and Facebook for all out scale and paid media.

Facebook & Instagram Process

  1. Promote this content for engagement on FB and Instagram. When people engage, I will then politely invite them to follow or like my page. I will be targeting similar pages or accounts that have the same subject matter and ethos.
  2. Once I get a little traction with this I will then start promoting my page/account to and audience that I know engages with the content.
  3. Once I have built a small audience of followers I will promote all the content I produce to them. Then to my previous engagers, and finally to a small lookalike audience of my followers
  4. After a week, I will then start testing content that sits on my site. I will use paid again to these audiences to test which combination of image and headline is right and then finally post organically to the network. I then go back to stage one.

To start doing this I had to think about what data and audiences I have access to. I then set up custom audiences within Facebook to target them. I set up both existing audiences and new audiences that will be generated in the future.

Once I have created them I then roll them up in the ad platform and split test them to see which audiences perform best.

In terms of ad creative I haven’t got much to work with, but I have got one friend that has come good with a video about a Biolite camping stove. I can use this to engage a camping audience and hopefully convert them to fans:

I start a campaign to try and reach users that might be interested and then feed these users into an audience to convert into a fan once they have engaged with other content from the page.

I set up the secondary campaign utilising the imagery I have sourced for the website. I can use these images to try and gain new fans.

I also add the video into this campaign in case I can drive direct fans from the video asset.

Audience

At the time of writing this is the profile of the audience that is engaging:

Engagers

Reach

Instagram

More outreach that’s all I can say. I’ve tried sending DMs to all the bottle brands with no response. I’m going to replicate my approach via email tomorrow. I need to return to doing rather than writing.

The website is now live! So go check it out!

If you want to read earlier articles in this publication, you can subscribe to The Ecomm Challenge here.

If you want to chat with me you can reach me on messenger. Subscribe to regular E-Commerce Challenge updates on messenger.

--

--

LostSociety
Ecomm Challenge

A media consultant at a global company, but toying with more practical marketing ideas. http://about.me/talintyre