Win-Win Setup For Minorities in E-commerce

MacLoush
Ecommerce Tips
Published in
4 min readApr 15, 2023
A map of Europe’s major minorities by https://www.reddit.com/user/JimWillFixIt69

How customer oriented your business is?

I do not have the ability to share a new super PPC setup or marketing strategy, or to come up with a super nuclear campaign setup or speak from a Google algorithm’s perspective :), but I think, we sometimes forget about the human approach, when we are talking about customer oriented business models.

I believe, it is happening also mostly because we are thinking about customers, fellow humans more and more from data perspective.

Missing out the power of subject matter experts, another fellow human, who might remind us about history, structures of societies and the life of our minorities.

And this is all well, because the majority dictates and minorities are suffering the consequences. In any and all senses.

The majority groups posses the euros, and minority ones are sitting on the cents.

But what if, your minorities are sitting on a heavy poach filled with coins?

I keep on hearing the words of my old boss: “ Just let the dollars come in richly, making me wealthy.

Here is the question: What is your strategy when it comes to targeting historical or economical minorities in a country?

The seasonal workers? Temporary residents? Travelers? Tourists?

Naturally speaking, it depends on your product range, your industry, and if you ask yourself: Do I have to do anything with them at all?

Do I even have anyone around me like that? Just look around.

I know from myself, that joining the majority is hard in certain points.

For many minority members it might take a lifetime to integrate, or lifetime is not enough, and then the next generation comes, when integration is the topic.

And I also know how well it makes me feel, if I hear my own language in a bar, in a restaurant, and state office or just randomly someone screams after me on the street: “Hey, You are also a Hungarian.”

I am sure you know the feeling. To hear your native language might make you feel a bit more home-like while being far away from the home land.

In this article, I am talking about trying this setup out in e-commerce, B2B industry and from PPC perspective.

But offline materials, B2C customers, luxury items or just real estate service promoters all are involved in this game.

We can schedule targeting: groups, locations, time and date, re-marketing, etc strategies and setups.. but did you ever think about targeting nations in nations? Such as:

- Romanians in Moldavia, Italy, France or Spain, Portugal, or Germany?

- Hungarians in Slovakia, Romania, Serbia, Austria, Germany or UK?

- Polish people in Germany, UK, or France?

- Russians in Germany, Austria, Switzerland or UK?

- Vietnamese people in Czech Republic?

- Chinese people in Hungary?

- Slovakians in Czech Republic, Austria, or Germany?

- Turks in Germany, Austria? Shall we miss the Kurds?

- Gaelic speakers in Ireland?

- Scots speakers in Scotland?

- Arab, Russian and Chinese tourists in a crystal shop, at a wrist watch manufacturer? This is my favourite.

The list is probably far too long and complex.

But do you really know your customers?

Do you really want to know more?

Are you a business owner who likes the cents densely or euros loosely?

Or you are just a great host by nature?

Now what you might missed out till now, is a pool of several millions of people, far from their homes, still using their phones, laptops, searching for products and services.

People, who are still in need for industrial or daily products, services for their work, daily life in miscellaneous projects.

They are searching and probably having small results found on the web.

Do not misunderstand me please, I live in Czech Republic, I use English in my online searches from time to time, and I receive mixed results but I am talking about dedicated campaigns using the language of these groups.

Creating Search-Display-Video-Discovery etc. ads in other language is not rocket science.

Setting up the campaign will not consume your entire budget. Or if yes, then the reaction from the targeted group is really considerable, and it is a good sign for your business.

Moreover, if your business’ interest requires the target group to be redirected to your web-shop allowing the visitor to use the language variant in mention.

Even more, to provide a language speaker for customer care?

A chat bot communicating on the target group language?

God-forbid, a translated terms and conditions?

This serves as a great marketing feature too!

Word will spread among the speakers on online forums, and other media channels.

The word of respect. The word of care. The word of partnership.

--

--

MacLoush
Ecommerce Tips

Tips on Desktop Automation | Digital Marketing | Parenting | Savings | Investment and Corporate Life | Subsrcibe: https://medium.com/@macloush/subscribe