Where is My Revenue? The Common Ground for The SEO, The SEA and The Web Analysis.

MacLoush
Ecommerce Tips
Published in
4 min readApr 15, 2023
Photo by regularguy.eth on Unsplash

The Question:

SEO, SEA and Web Analysis. What is the common ground, the joint benefit, the success drive for the three professions?

My answer:

At first I formed this article to point out the importance of Customer Care, however the Sales Team which gets first line feedback from Customers is the winner in my experience.

The Takeaway:

Let your SEO, SEA and Web Analyst get hands dirty and do Sales job as well. Learn about the Customer, their pain points, needs and daily routines. I am certain, this is the way to exceed the revenue targets.

The Story:

I started to work at KAISER+KRAFT as a SEA campaigner. Then I continued to build up some weight on the job and added the role of Web Analyst, to be able to see deeper into my data, tweak it and learn some patterns, gain new ideas, see the Customer.

I started to see the outlines of the Customer, define some characteristics for the average buyer from PPC insights, but it was weak.

I called the Country Manager who was a top Sales guy, who knows who and how buys, and just simply knows the Customer, as I have no opportunity getting in touch with the customer.

He said “Come to me if you need answers”.

And I started to talk to him whole working days, then when I learnt “enough” we talked gradually less and less.

Today I know, the different roles “SEA-Web analysis-SEO” require and result different depth of knowledge about the Customer.

If I just saw the data from PPC, I spent a lot of budget on a specific product brand, which gave hard time for our Sales Team, and also PPC sent a false message to customers.

So the time of Sales Team was wasted and at the end, Revenue failed to come, Budget was spent rapidly.

The Sales Team several times informed me about brands and product categories which could be pushed and which not.

Honestly, not all was valid for my PPC moves, but majority helped a lot.

So the SEA started to bring Revenue.

Photo by Roman Synkevych 🇺🇦 on Unsplash

The chats with the Sales Team put on the skeleton on the idea but talking to a pile of bones just results nothing.

Then the Web Analysis put on some flesh on that skeleton, and while I used my data (good or bad quality it is not important now), I realized something; the success comes once we bring into the analysis the SME, the Subject Matter Expert.

Again, I wanted to talk to the Sales Team or Manager, but this time I had a different angle, with different questions, weird and surprizing questions.

And the answers shake the PPC campaigns and the online revenue in general.

I have to say that in the development of PPC activities for 3 years; according to our Google Point of Contact, the Hungarian account was taking the majority of the the market, and in it’s 5 years of PPC activities, for continuous 11 months, in each month the PPC and overall online Revenue yielded more than in the previous months. New record in every month.

And the key event was the year starting Sales & SEA online meeting.

In January the Sales Manager and I went through the already established PPC Account… Brainstorm! Brainstorm!

Photo by Parabol | The Agile Meeting Toolbox on Unsplash

And since then I did not touch the account till I moved to SEO team.

Except if we had a special sales event, but the core was ready. The Machine rotates, the Creator rests. And it worked perfectly big time.

One thing still remained a mystery, the SEO.

Now I mean the SEO and the Sales Team.

No content, no revenue, weak content, weak revenue.

(Well, in a less competitive market where B2B has no or little competition, and speak a small and unique language, weak content did also yield.)

I need relevant content, which helps, informs, guides, engages the Customer till Conversion.

Why the Sales Team does not writes stories?

Field sales, sales assistance, but also product managers, procurement team, customer care workers ALL UNITE!

Photo by Priscilla Gyamfi on Unsplash

Will any of these guys write anything? Hardly. We have content creators, GPT 4+ etc. But an SEO who does Sales, that’s a different story.

But blogposts, success stories, PR articles all can be written ONLY if you have the idea, the info, the experience, and the story.

You will never buy this from an external super content writer who learns a lot home from the net. Why would you do that? You have the source, the stories anyways.

Your webshop is as close as possible to become technically sound, you are working the on page SEO, but Writing relevant and engaging content, establishes natural link building and !PR link building! requires ideas, content, with supporting visuals, images and takeaways.

The Summary:

The No ideas, No info, No experience results No stories for customers. Your Customers will stay less and less on your website, till the point that you can say No customer visits you.

--

--

MacLoush
Ecommerce Tips

Tips on Desktop Automation | Digital Marketing | Parenting | Savings | Investment and Corporate Life | Subsrcibe: https://medium.com/@macloush/subscribe