“It's here where I will fulfil my dreams”

EDACY
EDACY
Published in
3 min readApr 14, 2017

The selection of EDACY talents, also called Edacians, will be made next week. The talents are about to finish a 3-week acceleration phase to ensure their knowledge in technical skills. Based on the presentations and performance during the last three weeks, the final selection will be made. Meaning that the first talents of EDACY Fast program in Senegal will go into the second phase of the program: the 6-month paid immersion phase. Partner enterprises will take a minimum of three talents and provide them with company-projects and guide them to develop their own personal projects. It is touching to see how motivated and resilient students have become after participating in EDACY program. Keeping in mind that we started with a 500 registrants and are left with 25 potential innovators! Read a testimony by one of the talents.

My name is Mama Amar, I am a Computer Sciences student at Thiès University, Senegal. I was informed of the “FAST” program and its training and immersion by Bitilokho Ndiaye (Gender Technical Advisor at ICT Ministry in Senegal). She forwarded the mail to all participants of the Jiftic 2015 contest. I read the program and I signed up for two reasons. First, I am a computer programming enthusiast and I do research every single day God gives and I saw that the training model of EDACY was interesting. The second reason, more importantly, is that I am very ambitious. I think about really crazy projects. Sometimes I am therefore told that I’m dreaming but I always believed in my projects. Also because I find it unfair that the biggest companies, with the biggest fortunes, are all in Europe or in America. Sometimes I try to launch start-ups with other students but it is difficult to find someone with the same vision as you. In EDACYs Program I saw they help young Africans to realize their projects. And also you have to work on a personal project during the immersion in companies. I thought that maybe they have the same vision as me and indeed yes. The speech to the Edacians by the founder of EDACY, Temitope Ola, confirmed it. I admit that it has increased my motivation so I followed the courses online on Coursera in Object-oriented programming with Java, I completed quizzes and other assignments.

Finally, I passed the exams at ESP university and was selected for the bootcamp which, in my opinion, is part of the most enjoyable and important phases of the program. Fortunately, I was selected among the 25 talents and now we are following an accelerated training in computer programming..

I confess that I feel well here, because I think that it is here where I will fulfil my dreams. I am from Thiès but currently I stay with a friend in Dakar in order to follow the courses normally. I hope that I will be part of those who will go into the immersion phase at companies but even if the adventure ends, it is already good. I am Edacian.”

Visit our website www.edacy.com for more information about our program and become part of this upcoming great movement!

--

--

EDACY
EDACY
Editor for

Apprenticeship training system for building job skills in Africa and emerging countries.