On Redemption

Eddy Badrina
Hustle and Flow
Published in
2 min readOct 26, 2022
The Praxis Framework

If you’ve ever listened to any of the podcasts I’ve been on, you’ll probably hear about Praxis and its framework. I’ve had a couple of friends ask (and challenge) me about my line of thinking when it comes to building Eden Green, and what exactly “redemptive” means. It’s been a recurring theme in my life, so much so that, for our 10th wedding anniversary, Rachel and I each had small tattoos to commemorate the milestone. My tattoo? Filipino script that reads “katubusan”, the Tagalog (Filipino language) word for ‘redemption’.

‘katabusan’ in Babayin script

What is “redemption” anyway? Its basic definition is: the act of repairing, restoring, fulfilling, or even changing something for the better. When someone says that “it is their redeeming feature”, they mean it serves to offset or compensate for a defect (according to Merriam Webster).

Since those tattoos 12 years ago (yes, if you do the math, we’ve been married 22 years), I’ve tried to direct my energy and resources to building and advising organizations that are changing culture for the better. Whether that’s Seed Effect, Praxis Accelerator, OurCalling or even my local church community, I’ve been trying to be tightly focused on making redemption a way of life. Are the organizations perfectly run? No. Is my life perfectly focused on it? Definitely not — I show myself quite a bit of grace and leniency. But are my sights directed on cultural change, even in my vocation? Absolutely.

--

--

Eddy Badrina
Hustle and Flow

CEO of @EdenGreen. Co-founder of @Buzzshift (acquired 2x). Twitter & Instagram: @eddybadrina. Deut. 8:17–18