Books About Science!

Emilia Rodriguez
Editing Internship Experience
2 min readJun 29, 2020

I’ve started my first trilogy for my internship. I believe my supervisor may be running out of young adult books to give me, but I’m not too worried. I’m really not against reading and writing pitch letters for fiction books targeted for adults, but I’ll continue to work with as many young adult books as he has for me.

This trilogy is an interesting series that seems very whimsical and magical, but actually focuses on science. Five brilliant young scientists (ranging in age from 6 to 13), are summoned to stay away from their also-brilliant parents so they don’t distract them while they put their minds together to save the world — but it seems that the children may be the ones to figure things out instead. Though the series does focus on scientists, anyone who doesn’t have a love for science (or a background in physics) would still be able to read the books without confusion. I may have once been a biology major (before I realized that a life working in a lab is not one I find appealing), but I have absolutely no background in physics and I still enjoy these books.

Once again, I wish that I could give the name of the series, but I’m still not sure the parameters of what I’m allowed to say about my internship, so for now it will remain nameless. I will say that the series reminds me a lot of The 13th Reality series by James Dashner (author of The Maze Runner).

Interestingly, this also means I’m reading the longest books of my internship so far. Most of the books I’ve read have been between 180 pages to slightly over 300, with an average of 270 pages (outside of my internship the books I read are usually much longer, so this was a surprise to me at first). These books are typically 400–500 pages, a very different experience compared to the others I’ve been reading, but a pleasant surprise.

Though the first book in this series is admittedly a lot of exposition and introducing the new characters, I do believe this series would be wonderful for movie production, and I hope that it gets snatched up by a director or executive producer who plans to turn it into a film.

--

--