Back to here!

Sam Cook
Editing Untitled
Published in
2 min readMar 16, 2016
Photo by LinkedIn Sales Navigator on Unsplash

Me: I’d like to open this link please.

Phone: Sure, which application would you like to use? There’s the mobile web browser you choose absolutely every single time, but there’s also your password manager, got some social media apps here . . .

Me: Uh, yeah, I’d like to use the mobile web browser again.

Phone: Just this time, or Always?

Me: Didn’t I select “Always” last time?

Phone: Yep.

Me: And yet you’re still asking me again?

Phone: Also yes.

Me: Well then I guess it doesn’t matter.

Phone: Okie doke, here’s your web page.

Me: It’s blank.

Phone: I know, it’s cool, just hang on a second . . . there you go.

Me: It loaded everything except the actual content.

Phone: Yeah! Just keep waiting!

Me: Okay, there we go. I’d like to scroll down now.

Phone: Uhhhh, scrolling down . . . you sure you don’t just want to look at this stuff at the top?

Me: No, phone, that’s the most useless part!

Phone: Okay, here, we’ll scroll down a little.

Me: Now this part is blank.

Phone: Yeah, because you have to WAIT, dude.

Me: Fine, okay, now I can at least see a little of the article.

Phone: BACK TO THE TOP!

Me: What? Why?!

Phone: Eh, I don’t know, maybe try it again.

Me: Okay, I’d like to scroll down.

Phone: And here’s the first couple of lines

Me: Alright, here we g . . .

Phone: POP UP AD!

Me: Oh good, I didn’t know phones could time travel to 1998, when pop up ads still seemed like a good idea.

Phone: CLICK THE x TO CLOSE IT!

Me: There’s an x on there? Geez it’s small. Okay, annnnd there!

Phone: You clicked the ad! Here’s the ad page you requested!

Me: UGGGGHH!! WHY DID THE AD PAGE LOAD IMMEDIATELY WHEN THE SITE TOOK FOREVER?!

Phone: ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Me: You are the worst.

Phone: It’s fine, just close the new tab with the ad page, then you’ll be right back where you were.

Me: Tab closed, ad closed, and now I’d still like to scroll down.

Phone: Sure thing, here you go!

Me: Finally! Let’s see, summary of what the headline said, padding so the blogger could hit his minimum word count, and . . . yes, here’s the point of the post!

Phone: BACK TO THE TOP!

--

--

Sam Cook
Editing Untitled

Former writer for Tested.com and Geek.com, currently a technology professional, teacher, and father. I write about whatever is on my mind.