Artist Interview #4: The Story of Osavage, a Self-Made Artist Gone Digital

Fanny Lakoubay
Editional
Published in
2 min readJul 14, 2019
Osagie Obaretin, aka Osavage

“My name is Osagie Obaretin. I was born in Benin City, in the Edo State of Nigeria, West Africa. I remember when I was around 8 years-old, I used to watch a cartoon called SuperTed at my friend’s house, and we would try to draw it. We got better at it over time and I can say that everybody who knew me growing up knew that I could draw. It was something that came naturally to me.

I am a father of two, medic for a medical transportation company here in Houston Texas. I moved to the US in 2005. And digital art is something I started experimenting with off and on since 2017.

Fast forward to late 2018 I came across a couple of editing apps and ever since I’ve been manipulating these images. Recently I came across Editional and it’s like everything fell into place. I didn’t plan for it , I had about 4 editing apps on my iPhone already before I heard about Editional.

When creating a piece, I really don’t overthink it: I just go with the flow. I also switch my work between apps in the process to finalize it. My advice to anyone trying to start creating digital art is to just go ahead and start.”

Exhibition History:

  • June 10, 2019: Digital exhibition of Osavage’s digital works from Editional (mainly first editions) curated by 1st Edition in the virtual “Winding Gallery” on Cryptovoxel. Works sold on Opensea. Preview of the gallery available on Youtube.
  • May 2019: Osavage started publishing works on Editional

Example of Digital Works:

See his complete gallery here >

T**Q # Digital #art https://editional.com/c/3446/
T**R#digitalart https://editional.com/c/6153/
O.D.A#osavage #digitalart https://editional.com/c/9450/

Follow Osavage:

--

--