Meet the Edpuzzler: My Journey From Celebrity News to Edtech

Jenny Naylon
Inside Edpuzzle
Published in
3 min readJul 5, 2022

My career trajectory had a number of unexpected twists and turns, but it’s led me here to Edpuzzle, in my best job ever.

Image credit: Edpuzzle staff

As a lifelong journal-keeper, I dreamed of a career spent putting words to paper.

After writing for my university paper, I thought journalism was my calling. I caught my first professional break at Extra TV, where I worked as a website producer.

It was a surreal time to be a young, broke adult in Los Angeles. My days were spent churning out blog entries and photo galleries of celebrities, while my nights consisted of fancy publicity events with bored celebrities and all the free food I could carry.

The novelty wore off quickly when I realized that the “celebrity news” cycle operated 24/7, which meant being leashed to my computer. I was 24, and I longed to put down my laptop and experience what the world had to offer.

My career pivoted sharply when I moved to South Korea to teach English as a second language. The move opened my eyes to Korean culture and the fulfillment of teaching young children. Watching for the “aha” moment where a concept clicks, the swell of pride children feel as their confidence grows. I loved nearly every moment of being a teacher.

As the school year progressed and my contract end came closer, I watched as my students’ skills blossomed and their English improved. The hours I spent creating supplemental resources for our curriculum were worth it, as we bonded over arts & crafts, extension activities, and games that helped the tricky English concepts stick.

My teaching experience was full of open, interested students, supportive school staff, and parents who were wholeheartedly invested in their children’s academic success.

I embraced being a teacher in Jeonju, but I missed my friends and family. Back in the United States, I moved up to San Francisco to try something new after a lifetime in Los Angeles and the surrounding area.

As I started looking for my next job, I felt the tug of teaching. I missed doing work that felt meaningful, but I wasn’t ready to re-enter the classroom.

When a job as an editor at an edtech company presented itself, I leapt at the opportunity.

I spent the next nine years working my way around the Content & Curriculum team in various editorial positions, learning new skills and getting to know the teachers and parents we empowered to help kids succeed.

After COVID-19 led to layoffs, I found myself unemployed and able to really consider what I wanted the next phase of my career to look like. I chose to pursue edtech again because I felt that now, more than ever, teachers and schools needed high-tech tools they can use to find and create lessons students can complete from school, home, or in a hybrid learning environment.

Not only do they need affordable and accessible technology, but they also need top-quality resources to provide students with an engaging learning experience during a time when teachers are burnt out, students are easily distracted, and everyone craves some normalcy and routine. Make it a habit.

I’m proud to work on a team of former teachers who know the struggle of needing to meet the needs of 20 different students all at once, and how frustrating it can be to find videos that are accurate, educational, and hold students’ interest.

I call brilliant educators from around the world my colleagues, each with their own fascinating background and credentials to write and validate Edpuzzle Original content. They know how to conduct research and when to call in the subject matter experts.

We’re not all work and no play though — virtual happy hours, icebreaker welcomes for new employees, and virtual team-building make bonding possible despite the physical distance that separates us. Plus, in-person meetups are highly encouraged when team members travel within close distance of each other.

Interested in a career change of your own? Join Jenny and the Edpuzzle team by checking out the jobs board!

--

--

Jenny Naylon
Inside Edpuzzle

Helping teachers find the content they need on Edpuzzle. Former teacher, current honey badger, always curious.