Short tips for graduate students

Margherita Berti
EdSurge Independent
3 min readFeb 3, 2019

As a second-year doctoral student at the University of Arizona I often reflect on how I got to this point and things I did successfully as well as other things I should have done, but did not do. Graduate school is a challenging process that requires persistence and motivation. In many cases, successful graduate students are those who were determined and kept working toward their goals. In graduate school talented people are everywhere and sometimes “emerging from the crowd” might be difficult. Here I would like to share tips for surviving, and perhaps, thriving in graduate school.

1. Manage your time wisely. It is very easy to get excited about all the various events, guest lectures, workshops happening at your university. Nonetheless, it is important to focus on what is relevant to you at that specific time in graduate school. Start by defining your goals at the beginning of each semester. What do you want to accomplish and why? How will you accomplish your goals and how will you manage your time? Maintaining a work-life balance is also fundamental for your own mental health. It is okay to take time off when you need.

2. Find a mentor and/or a support group. Whether it is a professor or a more advanced graduate student, find a mentor who you can trust and who will support you. Sometimes you might feel the “impostor syndrome”, that is the feeling of self-doubt and not fitting in despite being skilled, and having someone who might have already went through that could help you in the process. Surround yourself with people who will build you up, not down; and if something does not feel right to you (for example your advisor does not give you the feedback and support you need) feel free to leave and find someone else you will help you improve and expand your skills.

3. Attend and present at conferences. When I started my MA at Indiana State University I thought it was odd that graduate students presented at conferences attended by experienced professors and scholars. Encouraged by my own professors I presented at a few conferences, and although at first it seemed extremely challenging and frightening (speaking in my second language in a room filled with people! How terrifying!) I eventually became more comfortable and learned that people are nice and if they attend your talk, they are there to learn from you, not to judge you. I also met many graduate students at conferences and we keep in touch on LinkedIn and other social platforms. Networking at conferences can be fun!

4. Be organized. Being organized is a valued skill not only in academia, but also in the work setting. It is fundamental that you keep your laptop files and your desk organized and clean. This approach really helps me as I work toward my goals everyday and as I “accumulate” presentation slides, drafts, and publishable essays through the years. Also, be organized with your tasks and schedule. I personally use ToDoIst and Google Calendar to keep track of the tasks I need to do every day and in the near and distant future.

Graduate school is a challenging time for everyone and while sometimes you might not see the end of the tunnel, you will eventually get there. Enjoy the learning process, meeting people, and attending classes because it is a unique time in your life that will end one day. Enjoy life like a graduate student, like you should!

--

--