Bringing Out Your Inner Child With These Cool Tech Toys

Alice Bonasio
Tech Trends
5 min readJul 4, 2017

--

Build a robot, program your own computer, and start creating whole new worlds with these amazing fun kits. Grownups allowed

For me Lego was always the toy of choice. The effortless way it entertained with its endless possibilities got me hooked very early on, and as I approach my 40th birthday the appeal still hasn’t worn off. Just ask my long-suffering wife about my Star Wars Minifigures addiction.

Lego was certainly a pioneer, and although there are many new and interesting incumbents coming through in the educational toys space these days, I tend to think that the best ones take a leaf from the brick book, applying the concept of modular, flexible learning that provides just enough guidance without limiting your imagination.

Two great new kits Tech Trends tried out recently are the Kitronik MOVE Mini and the Piper Computer Kit, both of which apply the “learn by building” concept masterfully. Here’s what we thought:

Kitronik MOVE mini

.

We have long been fans of Kitronik here at Tech Trends, and were happy to meet the new addition to their…

--

--

Alice Bonasio
Tech Trends

Technology writer for FastCo, Quartz, The Next Web, Ars Technica, Wired + more. Consultant specializing in VR #MixedReality and Strategic Communications