Product Review: The New Nokia 7.1 Smartphone

Alice Bonasio
Tech Trends
Published in
4 min readNov 12, 2018

--

Nokia is back in a big way with a series of very appealing and very affordable smartphones. Tech Trends takes a look at the brand new Nokia 7.1

Yes, oh yes indeed, I popped my mobile cherry with Nokia! This Nokia 5210 was my first ever mobile phone. In the early 2000s, I moved to London and needed one of these new-fangled mobile phone things. Lured by its rugged and replaceable plastic shell the Nokia 5210 jumped out at me in a phone shop in Islington. I am absolutely sure I was ripped off but don’t remember what I paid, too much for sure. As far as I remember it did text and calls and a few snake chase type games, nice!

Just for a laugh here is the phone I replaced it with! The Nokia 7600 had a colour screen and was, let’s be honest, a terrible design, I mean really flipping awful. I still have this phone somewhere. However, it is great to this brand back in business and they are producing some interesting smartphones!

Anyway moving swiftly on to the shiny and very capable Nokia 7.1 The mid-priced smartphone market is filling up rapidly with competition so the 7.1 has to perform and deliver features that match or beat those from companies including…

--

--

Alice Bonasio
Tech Trends

Technology writer for FastCo, Quartz, The Next Web, Ars Technica, Wired + more. Consultant specializing in VR #MixedReality and Strategic Communications