5 Books Every Teacher Should Read

Mike Paul
Educate.
Published in
5 min readApr 26, 2021

--

Photo by Lilly Rum on Unsplash

Some books should be tasted, some devoured, but only a few should be chewed and digested thoroughly. — Sir Francis Bacon

As a teacher, you’ve already read more books than you care to remember and I dare say there are several from your undergraduate studies you’re doing your level best to forget.

I’m willing to bet that many of those books you’ve devoured during your teaching career have been focused on education topics. Some of them have been great and have helped you break through to new heights in the classroom. Some have been a waste of time (just being honest, folks).

And some have become dear friends that you return to year after year, providing you with new perspectives each time you dive into the pages.

I won’t provide you with a list of books here that I’m sure you’e either already read or heard spoken of by so many other teachers that you feel like you’ve read them yourself. Instead, I’ll offer you a few books that have become important to me personally that have helped bring fresh perspectives to teaching and leadership in schools.

Of course, this list is not comprehensive and I’ll likely share more in the future but it’s good to have a starting point.

The War of Art by Steven Pressfield

--

--

Mike Paul
Educate.

I dad, I tech, I teach, I write. Not always in that order. INTJ. Ravenclaw. 1w9. Wannabe academic and author. https://mikepaul.com