Education in Thailand

A Fairy Tale Of Teachers’ Glasses in the Beautiful Kingdom of Thailand

In Thailand, the meaning behind teachers’ glasses, understanding the toll of disrespect on their health, and the importance of empathy

Alex Baidun
EduCreate
Published in
4 min readDec 5, 2023

--

The best stories are written by life.

By the author using Midjourney

Once upon a time, in the majestic and beautiful land filled with wonders, a student approached a Thai teacher with a beautiful smile, “Teacher, teacher … I apologize, but I am starting to worry about you…”

“Why?” asked the teacher, their eyes full of love and compassion.

“I apologize if my question is stupid — ”

“Don’t say it like this,” the Thai teacher smiled and kindly interrupted, “Maybe your question is smart,” the teacher said with love and compassion.

“Good. Thank you, teacher! I want to understand something,” the student lowered his head a little bit and continued, “To make sure. May I ask something important respectfully?”

“Sure, if respectfully … but I’ll think about it. Maybe it’s not time to answer yet. Your teacher should find the best answer for you, and it takes time sometimes.”

“As you wish, my teacher,” the student glowed with happiness that the teacher trusted him to ask a question. “Teacher, I noticed that you used 5 pills today, but as recently as yesterday, only four … bad pills? Or…” the student looked full of compassion.

By the author using Midjourney

The teacher sighed and looked at the student with kind eyes. “Good question,” the teacher put on their glasses. “You know, maybe … I’m not sure, but maybe if some of the students had listened to me more carefully, not making noise, maybe I would have only used one pill yesterday … not six pills.”

“Teacher…” the Thai student looked with sad eyes.

“Yes, we age, but sometimes much faster because we forgive you … and pay with our health,” the teacher sighed.

In the student’s eyes, tears of remorse flowed as it was the rainy season in Thailand — the student had just learned something.

“Oh, my Buddha! Oh, my teacher!” the student furrowed, “Is that why teachers put their glasses on so early because they don’t want to see our bad attitude and disrespect?”

“I’m happy you’re able to draw some conclusions, my beloved student,” the teacher smiled; the smile looked tired. “Maybe you are right. Maybe some teachers saw disrespectful attitudes and asked Buddha to help not see such dirty manners.“

The student’s eyes showed bright drops as clear as crystal, “Ajaaaarn … but what can we do since their health is gone? Forever… right?”

By the author using Midjourney

The teacher looked at their watch, their voice barely above a whisper, “Maybe… You should know, my dear student, that some things cannot be undone. It’s too late sometimes. Time is ticking so fast: tick-tuck; tick-tuck; tick-tuck … Yet, it pleases me that you know how to draw conclusions. I feel it without words.”

The student began crying, “Sorry, teacher, I just didn’t understand this.”

“I knew it, my marvelous student … it just works like this. But if you have such questions, I will tell you something…”

“What? Teacher?” the student looked at the teacher with hope; a shy smile danced on the student’s face.

“I have just blessed you with all my heart. Yet, you should know, my angel, that sometimes the students don’t think too much before speaking. Sometimes show low and disrespectful manners. It would be nice if they draw some conclusions.”

The end.

Conclusion

In the Kingdom of Thailand, the tale concludes with the lesson that empathy and respect are the lenses through which we preserve the well-being of those who guide us.

By the author using Midjourney

Alex Baidun, “Cherish the wisdom reflected in teachers’ glasses, for it is earned through patience, understanding, and the shared journey of learning, compassion, and love.”

If you find my stuff interesting, please show your support by giving it a round of applause and following me. Then allow me to oblige by leaving your presence!

--

--

Alex Baidun
EduCreate

Content Creator/Ex-Teacher/Ex-Economist/Melancholy Introvert/Bhuddist/Poet/Musician/Optimist/I write about Philosophy,Adventures,Life/Catch my drift?Subscribe💜