Chronicles of an Exchange Student’s Odyssey in Thailand— 1#Arrival

Welcoming a French schoolgirl to our Thai school: smiles and excitement. Let me tell you how it was from the teacher’s perspective

Alex Baidun
EduCreate

--

Photo by Thai Teacher

Greetings, my friend! Today is an actual holiday at my school. The fact is that for the first time in the history of my school, we have an exchange student. This is a unique experience for my students and school, and I have a new topic to write about on a regular basis from the teacher’s perspective.

I plan to write a series of stories detailing my observations and experiences with a new student from France. So, let me tell you how my school embraced the French schoolgirl with open arms.

Arrival

With bright blue eyes, the schoolgirl named Victoire stepped out of the bus and inhaled the humid air of Chumsaeng. She arrived at the school gates, and an eager crowd of students from the school was waiting for her — each one waving a welcome sign and many carrying balloons. The sight made the French schoolgirl smile. She had never been welcomed with such enthusiasm before.

Photo by Author

Then she noticed the billboard with the words “Welcome to Chumsaeng!” written across the top. The school had gone out of its way to make this occasion extra special for her and for the students of my school, and I suppose it was great.

The host family she would stay with stepped forward and welcomed her warmly to her new school. The French name is tough to pronounce for native Thai speakers, so the host family picked a new name for her in the Thai manner. Now, her name is Wa-ni-da (long sound ‘da-a-ah’).

Wanida is a well-known Thai drama character who enjoys horseback riding, and our new student does as well. She was given this name so that many Thais would immediately associate her with a character who enjoyed horseback riding. As they embraced each other for the first time, Wanida felt like part of the family already.

The Movie ‘ Wanida’ Wikipedia

I’m familiar with the host family a bit. They are a beautiful middle-aged couple, and I taught their daughters at my school. I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this family and their children — the youngsters are well-behaved and conscientious.

The youngest of them had recently left for Michigan, USA, as an exchange student, while the other went to Taiwan. The host mother appeared content to host another student while their own children were studying abroad. It was heartwarming to see the pride in her eyes, and I could tell that this was a significant moment for the family.

The host family did their best to make Wanida feel comfortable and at ease in their home.

‘The Host Mother,’ by the School Photographer

The teachers from my school were the second to greet her, gathering around the student with friendly smiles and welcoming embraces. The teachers’ cologne and perfume perfumed the air with delicate notes of jasmine, lavender, lemon, and sandalwood. The scent was inviting and comforting, encapsulating the group in an aura of acceptance and companionship. The French student couldn’t help but blush as they all stared at her with curiosity and admiration.

The teachers’ laughter and banter filled the air, creating an atmosphere of warmth and goodwill. Their voices were gentle but full of life, tinged with curiosity and a hint of awe. The French student’s laughter was like a bell, tinkling in the background of the group.

My colleagues, the girl, the host family, and I; by the School Photographer

I realized that the girl was emotional, so I did not ask unnecessary questions and formulated the sentence very simply but friendly. “Hello! What’s your name?”

“Wanida,” she mentioned her new Thai name, which made me smile.

“I’m Alex, your English teacher. Nice to meet you.”

“Nice to meet you, too,” she said with confidence.

To my surprise, she appeared at ease with my questions. It could be that my presence as a European teacher was a welcome change of pace, or maybe my questions were presented in a clear and simple manner. Regardless, her self-assured demeanor was evident.

Photo by Colleague

Everywhere Wanida went, our students and teachers were warm and welcoming. Undoubtedly, she had a sense of belonging in this place. Though nervous, she was also filled with excitement.

The school even held a special assembly during which the French schoolgirl was honored and welcomed. The whole school was there, celebrating her arrival with smiles and cheers. It was a moment that she would never forget.

The vice-director of the school also greeted her warmly, shaking her hand and introducing herself before leading her into the building for a tour. The teachers also gave souvenirs, as well as a school backpack with our school logo and a sports uniform kit.

The girl and the vice-director, photo by School Photographer

She looked around our school, taking in all of the novel sights, sounds, and smells. As she walked through her new home, she undoubtedly felt the anticipation build. She had never been so far from home before, and the thought of it made her both nervous and excited.

Of course, my students were eager to meet their new arrival. They quickly gathered around her, introducing themselves and asking her some questions. She found herself answering their questions in French, English, and even a few words in Thai.

Wanida found herself getting to know her new classmates and schoolmates, learning about Thai culture, and exploring the small town of 10,000 people.

Today was a remarkable day. It was a strange but wonderful feeling for everyone.

Photo by Author
Her new classmates, photo by a Thai teacher

The schoolgirl and our school are looking forward to all the new adventures and experiences that are awaiting us this year. Wanida is excited to learn more about the country and its people. The teachers are eager to show hospitality and support. All the students are keen to make a new friend from France.

Stay tuned — so many exciting things are expected!

Did you find my stuff interesting? I welcome your support. Please give this post a round of applause. Follow me? Then allow me to oblige by leaving your presence!

--

--

Alex Baidun
EduCreate

Content Creator/Ex-Teacher/Ex-Economist/Melancholy Introvert/Bhuddist/Poet/Musician/Optimist/I write about Philosophy,Adventures,Life/Catch my drift?Subscribe💜