Expand Your Perspectives: Free Templates for Gaining Insight Into Diverse Experiences

Learn practical strategies and templates for cultivating an understanding of marginalized communities through recommended resources and open dialogue. 🌈✨

Naomi Latini Wolfe ✨
EduCreate

--

Photo by Christina @ wocintechchat.com on Unsplash

This past week, two former students joined me in a Top Hat webinar that provided strategies for tackling complex subjects in the classroom. Christopher Martin and Mykel Perry shared their insights, emphasizing creating an environment encouraging collaboration and open dialogue. They discussed how a welcoming atmosphere can set the tone for a successful learning experience and equip learners with the tools they need to succeed.

I shared practical strategies for how educators can achieve this same atmosphere. I use these strategies as an educator and in writing the textbook ‘Social Problems and Silver Linings.’ 💫

The first step: doing the work ourselves. The ‘work’ I am referring to includes uncovering any limiting beliefs we may not be aware of and expanding how we think of ourselves and others. This means we must expand our perspectives to include the experiences of diverse others and to grow empathy for humanity along its entire beautiful spectrum. If this sounds daunting, I empathize with that. Still, our fears can’t stop us from trying. To make it easier, when you are ready to expand, begin small and then build from there.

Photo by LinkedIn Sales Solutions on Unsplash

The templates below help guide you in asking your network for highly recommended resources or people to follow that can help you achieve your goal of gaining new perspectives and insight, reducing bias, and enhancing empathy. Feel free to share as is or modify it to suit your authentic desires and goals. Most people are more than willing to offer guidance and suggestions when asked genuinely and respectfully.

Happy learning!

Naomi

📝📝📝
Template 1:

Hello, friends! I’m actively searching for fresh perspectives on <topics> to better understand <the subject>. Is there anyone in my esteemed network who can recommend media, materials, or activities that provide unique, enlightening, or lesser-known perspectives? I am grateful for any suggestions encouraging an understanding of topics beyond the mainstream narratives. I will be incredibly thankful for any resources that intentionally highlight or elevate the first-hand perspectives and experiences of those from marginalized communities. Thank you for your time and for being part of my journey!

📝📝📝
Template 2:

I recognize that much of my learning can happen through listening and educating myself. To diversify my perspectives and learn more about the experiences of others, I’m reaching out to my network for highly recommended resources or people to follow. In particular, I would like to gain more insight into topics related to <topics>.

I would greatly appreciate any suggestions for must-read books, podcasts, films, articles, or social media accounts that can help me better understand different perspectives. I’m committed to using this information to reduce any biases I may hold and improve myself as a whole.

Dive Deeper

Ready to dive deeper into these topics and better comprehend learning through collaboration? In that case, check out my book ‘Social Problems and Silver Linings.’ It’s full of strategies for fostering an environment that encourages open dialogue and creative thinking. You can also subscribe to Rainbow Weather Publications for more colorful thinking for the socially curious, and follow my blog to stay up-to-date with the latest resources. Thank you for reading! 🌈🙌🏽

Naomi

--

--

Naomi Latini Wolfe ✨
EduCreate

🔥Acclaimed educator known for transformative teaching. -Awin-