The Secret to Unlocking a Lifetime of Learning: Safe and Supportive Environments

Raag | Humanities Educator and Mentor
EduCreate
Published in
3 min readMar 14, 2023
Photo by Diego PH on Unsplash

When I was 15 years old, I had a Literature teacher who radically reshaped my relationship with learning and showed me the beauty of the humanities. Her name was Ms Tnee, and she was the kind of teacher who made you want to show up for class every day, eager to learn something new. She was my favourite teacher.

One day, we were studying a poem called “The Jaguar” by Ted Hughes. Ms Tnee gave us five minutes to read through the poem, and then opened the floor for discussion. I was convinced that I had figured out the poem’s hidden meaning, and eagerly raised my hand to share my interpretation.

“This poem is about fascist Germany,” I declared confidently. “The jaguar represents Hitler.”

Ms Tnee stared at me, then looked back at the poem. She asked the class who agreed with my interpretation and who didn’t. For the next 15 minutes, we had a lively discussion about the poem’s possible meanings.

Finally, she turned to me with a slight smile of amusement. “Actually,” she said, “the poem is just about a jaguar in the zoo.”

I was embarrassed, of course, but Ms Tnee’s response was crucial. Instead of mocking me or dismissing me as wrong, she created a space of psychological safety in the classroom. She encouraged us to share our ideas, even if they seemed far-fetched or off-base. This approach gave me the confidence to exercise creativity and explore new meanings, even if I occasionally got things wrong.

Looking back, I realize that Ms Tnee’s approach to teaching and mentorship was key to creating a safe and supportive learning environment. She was always willing to listen to her students, and encouraged us to take risks and make mistakes. The rapport she had established with me was what made me fall in love with Literature, and gave me the confidence to continue pursuing it for the rest of my life.

This experience taught me the importance of psychological safety in learning and in the classroom. When students feel safe and supported, they’re more likely to take risks and share their ideas openly. The role of mentorship in creating this kind of environment can’t be overstated. Teachers and mentors who foster psychological safety can have a profound impact on their students’ confidence and willingness to learn.

10 years later, I teach humanities for a living and I still look up to her as my role model. I strive to replicate her teaching philosophy; to create a nurturing and supportive learning environment where students feel safe enough to take risks and go out on a limb, even if they might be wrong. Ms Tnee and I still keep in touch. She wishes me on my birthday every year without fail. And she still makes fun of me for thinking that the Jaguar was Hitler.

So if you’re looking for a personalised and holistic approach to humanities education, please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me. Together, we can help your child achieve their full potential. Send in an inquiry either through the website or drop me an email at teacher.raag@gmail.com

--

--