What Lesson Planning Done Right Looks Like

How I’ve learned to work smarter, not harder when it comes to lesson planning.

Danya Khelfa
EduCreate

--

Photo by Hulki Okan Tabak on Unsplash

You want to see a teacher change moods and quickly?

Just say two words — lesson plan.

I’ll explain why these two words can change moods for the worst in a moment, but let’s just get one thing straight first.

And I think most teachers will agree with me on this:

Teachers do need lesson plans, but what they don’t need is the frustration of trying to meet ideal expectations in a realistic classroom.

I am not against lesson planning, never was, nor will ever be.

I’ve been a teacher long enough to understand the difference between how classes are run when I do make a lesson plan and when I don’t.

Yes, I’ll admit it.

After five years of teaching, I traded in my own lesson plans for sticky notes in the textbook, and relied on my belief as a teacher in order to get me through the lessons.

I soon discovered my energy levels were leaving me unsatisfied with what was happening in the classroom.

--

--

Danya Khelfa
EduCreate

Engineer turned educator for 20+ years who enjoys talking about education, mental health, & wellness. Let's connect: https://linktr.ee/edukitchenservices