Curious to design your own app? Let’s make your way easy with FLUTTER.

Aman Malhotra
eduwaivefoundation
Published in
4 min readJul 19, 2019

Flutter, an open source SDK for mobile app development, most of you might have heard about it somewhere. I came to know about it in May of 2018. I had an interest in developing android apps but I wasnt that expert in that even though I had a little experience in it but i wanted to be good at it. So II tried flutter back then. I had my college holidays so I spent my 2 months learning and working on flutter. I started liking it a lot and then went on to explore more of it and go in details of it all. Learning flutter was a great experience for me.

Flutter is a technology that has made building mobile apps so easy for developers that most of the companies these days have started building their apps in it and already some huge companies like Alibaba, Hamilton Musical, Abbey Road Studio and many more have already had their apps in flutter that are published on play store.

After a little experience in flutter, i mean after I was done playing around with it, I thought of making my own app — and so I did. I was making it alone so it took some time as it’ll take a starter to make something from scratch but there i was after 3–4 months with my app ready, working like 3–4 hours a week, and I was excited to publish it on play store after it completed.

LET’S LEARN FLUTTER WITH MY FLUTTER STORY!

So, I started with an offline music player. Even though i knew it wont do great there, I still knew it made me learn a lot of things that I never could without starting that app alone. So there I was with my app published on play store, my friends did say it was great .

I still have 5⭐ rating for that app with almost 30 ratings. But the download response was as expected, I mean who listens to offline music these days ?? Even I don’t do that. So even if it didn’t have that good of a response,I am happy I spent that much time working on it.

After this I made a few plugins online for flutter, started contributing to online open source projects on Flutter and then in the month of January a company named Packt Publishing approached me and they asked me to make a course on flutter. So you see I benefited from working on that app. So i made that course in about 2 months. And now that course is live on many websites including Udemy, PacktPub, etc.

The link for Udemy is here — https://www.udemy.com/flutter-in-7-days/

So this was the backstory I wanted to mention before I tell you why flutter ??

Flutter is first of all very easy to use and you can build both android and IOS apps with a single code base.

It has a very easy learning curve for someone who has prior knowledge in any OOPLanguage before. It uses a language called DART. If you are new to flutter you might have not heard that language before…

Don’t worry, you don’t need any extra coaching for that.

You have any prior experience in any language ??

If yes then you are good to go… Start playing around with it and you’ll start grasping everything very soon.

If no, then you need to learn a bit before. Maybe any language. Basics I mean that’ll be all. After that you can go and start working on a basic project and rest you can learn along the way.

Flutter provides a lot of features that make the development so easy..

The one of them being hot reload. What does that even mean you’ll ask… lemme tell.

We make a change to the code, we don’t have to recompile the whole app to make that change show up on the app while developing it, just change the code press a single button and then depending on your operating system, within a couple of seconds or maybe even milliseconds your changes will reflect in your app also your state is saved as well which means your app will not change the state in which it was before reloading, with the new changes added.

So what next ?? except that.

The native look and feel for the app in both IOS and Android stays as you’ld want to have and it provides you classes for a lot of predefined material widgets that you can use right away.

Lemme tell you what I mean when I use the word Widget.

Anyone having prior experience in android development ??

If yes then you’ll know that u call everything a view.

Just like that in flutter everything is a widget. Starting from a small button or text to a full app. Anything that you see and interact with, on the app is a widget in flutter.

I’ve had a great experience working with flutter and presently using it in the innovation of an app in EDUWAIVE FOUNDATION.

I recommend you all to try that once for sure so that you can see how efficient and easy it is to use…

--

--