I’m not going to interviews because I want a new job

Dan Gurgui
Efesent Solutions
Published in
4 min readJan 19, 2020

--

Over the years, I’ve had over 30 late-stage interviews and I’ve interviewed at least 50 people for engineering roles in my teams. In the last 2 years, 15 companies interviewed me and I received 10 offers. I changed companies 3 times and I want to say that I’m not going to interviews for a new job, but because interviews provide valuable experiences, feedback, and training. I schedule an interview every 3 months and I recommend this practice to everybody working in the technology industry, regardless if they are looking for a job or not. Let me explain why.

Career growth

For me, it has always been difficult to evaluate myself, how my career is going and what benefits package I should negotiate. I don’t know if the new technology that I just learned is needed on the market and how it’s paid. Contracts and salaries are confidential and the information on self-reporting platforms such as Glassdoor is not accurate. Recruitment companies publish annual reports with salaries in the industry, but those reports don’t take into account a mix of skills or proficiency levels across multiple technologies. It becomes even more difficult when comparing salaries in different cities. Going to meetups, conferences and engaging in talks with people working in the industry helps, but it’s subjective and imprecise. With all of these in mind…

--

--