Communic-Action Plan

Denny Dong
Effective Communication
2 min readFeb 21, 2018

Out of all the soft-skills, why did I choose communication as my research topic? Because communication skills is not only crucial in the workplace but everywhere else as well. From explaining to your teacher why your homework is late to just socializing with your friends, you always want to convey the right message to avoid any confusion. I am interested in researching this particular skill because personally there are times when I have trouble getting my point across and I’m pretty sure a majority of us have experienced this as well. We all know how frustrating it can be when we explain a reasoning to someone and the explanation goes through one ear and comes out the other.

By reading their facial expression, one can tell about about their true feeling and emotions. This is a skill that I can definitely improve upon. Ever since I was a child, I had the habit of avoiding eye contact while holding a casual conversation. Don’t get me wrong, I am not an introvert who is uncomfortable keeping eye contacts. For some reason, more often than not, I catch myself looking ahead or at something else rather than at the person. But I know that if I want to improve my communication skills, I should start by keeping eye contact while having a conversation. This is why my goal for my communication action plan is to hold my eye contact with the person I’m talking to without making it awkward.

My method for reaching this goal is simple. I’ll keep track of the amount of times I keep face to face eye contact with my conversational partner. The more I do it the more natural it will become. Hopefully by the end of this, I’ll become the master of facial expressions.

--

--