Photo by Joshua Rawson-Harris on Unsplash

Boredom — My Super Power

How Overstimulation Makes Your Life Boring, But You Can Take It Back.

Caleb Vannoy
Published in
3 min readFeb 12, 2024

--

Recently I had to purge.

I had 16 mobile games on my phone, and the previous weekend I spent my entire day off, playing one of them.

These games weren’t just regular mobile games, which are overstimulating enough. No this was a genre of game called “Gacha”.

Gacha Gaming comes from the “Gachapon” machines in Japan where you put in the coins and try your chance at a unique or limited figure.

This system of gambling in video games has created some of the most profitable video games to date.

Even though I was a “Free To Play” (meaning no real-world money spent) I still got addicted to these games fast.

TLDR: Remove overstimulation from your life, and environment. And everyday life takes on a new excitement.

My Problem

Shortly after getting addicted to these games, I found myself not wanting to participate in the regular everyday activities I once loved.

My work is very deeply fulfilling to me, and something that I look forward to every single day. Except when I was playing these video games.

I found naturally I gravitated toward the most stimulating thing in my life. Not the best. Not the most fulfilling. Stimulating.

My Solution

Photo by Onur Binay on Unsplash

I deleted every single game I was playing.

This and the fact that 6–8 months ago I deleted all social media (except YouTube) made the following weekend very very boring…. At first.

Because I was so bored, I found myself reading on Medium again. Which inspired me, gave me ideas, and caused me to write. I wrote 3 posts in one day.

Why? Because what else was I going to do?

Clear Your Environment of Overstimulation.

Photo by David van Dijk on Unsplash

All of the things that were over-stimulating my life had been removed.

At first, it was hard. But now I realize how much more exciting everything in life is when I’m not constantly overstimulated.

I remember something very similar happening when I purged social media from my life.

Boring things became exciting, I replaced doom scrolling with e-books and podcasts. Stepping away from social media also gave me a great inflow of peace.

Caveat

Removing overstimulation alone is not going to fix your life.

Finding meaning and excitement in everyday living will.

You should have things in your life that are fun. You can’t work all of the time.

But fun ≠ meaningful.

If you cut out everything that over-stimulates you, first replace it with finding a vision and purpose for your life.

Otherwise, you will just get depressed.

Conclusion

When you remove overstimulation from your life. You will get bored.

Then, boring things we need to do every day become exciting.

For me, that means reading and writing on Medium became exciting because I wasn’t sitting here constantly thinking about the video games I wish I was playing instead.

Rather than playing mobile games all day, I want to have a meaningful evening with my loved ones.

And for you, it could just mean the thing you have been putting off forever (Like writing on Medium) now begins.

What exciting thing have you been putting off? Let me know in the comments!

If you liked this article, please let me know what you think! If you want more articles like this, follow me as I test the waters here on Medium.

--

--

Caleb Vannoy

My name is Caleb Vannoy. I am a creative entrepreneur and owner of “Vannoy Visuals”