Windows laptop users: Get 3 finger swipe to navigate back and forth

Ambrose
efficientHacks
Published in
1 min readMay 10, 2017

Here’s something I’ve found on stackoverflow while trying to set up my Windows computer just the way I want.

Got a new Windows laptop (HP Omen 15t) and could not find any settings to customize the 3 finger swipe.

I googled around and finally found something that actually worked! It took me a few tries because I misread HKLM vs HKCU… I just can’t believe the steps involved for something this simple.

Warning: back up your registry

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Synaptics\SynTP*some device name*\3FingerGestures]

  • my device name is “TouchPadSMB2cTM3257”

“ActionID3” (3 means swipe right) =dword:00000018 (which refers to plugin ‘24’)

“ActionID7” (7 means swipe left) =dword:00000017 (which refers to plugin ‘23’)

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Synaptics\SynTPPlugIns\SynTP\23]

“KeySequence”=dword:000000a6 (this is navigate back )

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Synaptics\SynTPPlugIns\SynTP\24]

“KeySequence”=dword:000000a7 (this is navigate forward)

After this change, run powershell as admin to restart the service:

Stop-Service "SyntpEnhService"; kill -name SynTPEnh; kill -name SynTPHelper; Start-Service "SynTPEnhService"

Originally published on reddit:

--

--

Ambrose
efficientHacks

Solving first world commuter problems with My Orator