5 Quotes from Where The Crawdads Sing that Push Us to Reflect On The Power of Words and Emotions

A book that broke my heart and then mended it, repeatedly

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
eggsisting

--

Photo by Hu lei on Unsplash

Book Title: Where the Crawdads Sing
Author: Delia Owens

Unlike many writers and poets, I am not a Nature kind of person. If anything, I was born into the Forest of Cement (Hong Kong) and then subsequently moved into a suburban neighbourhood where the only nature involves visiting hares and the grass on our lawn.

At best, given all the discomfort “the outside” gives me, our relationship is strictly professional. I only stray out there for professional needs; I spend no time dilly-dallying for fun in the outdoors.

The protagonist of this book, Kya Clark, is so different from anyone I have ever known in real life. For a good few chapters, my thoughts cycled between “why was there no grown-up around to protect this child” and “damn, I cannot relate to this child’s love for nature the slightest bit.”

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
eggsisting

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.