How Grey’s Anatomy Character Cristina Yang was the On-Screen Representation I Missed Out On All My Life

On redefining Eurocentric beauty and mental health

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
eggsisting

--

Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

Disclaimer: This post contains major spoilers for Grey’s Anatomy.

I’m Asian. As someone who has always watched TV shows across several languages and cultures, there were specific places where I saw different aspects of myself.

In North American TV shows, I saw the narrative of my childhood as someone who grew up in Canada.

In Hong Kong and Korean dramas, I saw aspects of my Asian heritage represented. I learned the customs, rules, body language, slang of my culture so that if I ever visited Hong Kong, I could fit in with the rest of my cousins.

I thought I had all the representation I needed, when in reality, my identity was being split into two. These sources of stories split my beliefs into two.

In English, the stories and beliefs from North American TV shows came most quickly, without translation. If I had to communicate something in Cantonese, lessons and characters in Hong Kong dramas (and Korean dramas, dubbed in Cantonese) came most quickly to me.

In English, I could talk for days about the importance of loving my body. In…

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
eggsisting

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.