Egg Bites Series

Today, I Was Trapped In A Conversation I Neither Wanted nor Asked For, And I Paid For It

Can I just lie down for the rest of 2022? Because I need it

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
eggsisting
Published in
5 min readJan 12, 2022

--

Photo by Mario Azzi on Unsplash

I’m so tired fam, may I just lie down for the rest of 2022?

My left hand,
wobbly,
struggling to catch up
to the right hand,
nyooming.

Today, I made a decision,
and I stand by it.

These are difficult conversations,
considering the frictions
between you and I,
you (unnamed,
ambiguous,
non-specific).

I’m tired.

Today held fear,
fear of needles,
fear of consequences,
fear of never arriving home
with an rideshare driver that genuinely
would not stop taking his eyes
off the road because he was
bent on showing me evidence
that we shouldn’t need vaccines,
as he drove me home from
from my booster shot.

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
eggsisting

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.