What It’s Like To Participate in a Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging (fMRI) Research Study

Stories from my undergrad

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
eggsisting

--

Photo by Dan Dimmock on Unsplash

Have you ever wondered what it’s like to participate in a functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging fMRI study? I participated in a few when I was completing my undergrad degree (all those years ago!) and they were among the most interesting studies I participated in.

A lot of neuroscience and psychology labs conduct research in these cool scanners to look at how your brain works as you perform various brain-boggling tasks. At the time, I’d never done any scans before so the fMRI was truly my first time in a scanner.

Here’s my story of what this experience is like!

Getting Involved: The Dive Into Research

A lot of research labs will promote these via posters and social media to invite participants into the lab to participate. In my case, as a research assistant in various labs, I was actually invited to fill in last-minute no-show slots by other graduate students in the lab.

At the time, it cost $500 CAD to book the scanner, a sum that has to be paid even if the participant doesn’t show up. Often, graduate students scrambled to find last-minute participants to fill those cancelled slots in…

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
eggsisting

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.