You Haven’t Been Able To Escape the Squid Game Memes and Neither Have I

An unstructured deep dive into this kdrama

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
eggsisting

--

Photo by Jonas Augustin on Unsplash

You’ve seen the memes, even if you don’t spend a lot of time on the internet. Everyone at work is talking about it. You keep seeing triangles, circles and squares. People keep talking about sugar cookies. Squid Game has been in the zeitgeist and we all know it.

In a way, it reminded me of the Game of Thrones fad. It’s been a long time since my entire squad agreed to watch the same thing. By long, I mean that it’s been at least 5–6 years. Even Game of Thrones didn’t have this pull, because some of my friends flat out refused to watch it because of the fad.

Squid Game surpassed that. Despite the hesitancy that a lot of my friends have had about Korean dramas being cliché and too focused on romance, the trailer for Squid Game proved “dystopian enough” to appeal to a crowd who loves dark narratives and tragic backstories.

In fact, some of my friends reached out, assuming I’d already seen Squid Game, being the most vocal about encouraging others to watch more Korean dramas. I hadn’t, and I excitedly dove in.

This unstructured rant will contain spoilers.

Join me if you’ve seen the show and you’re ready to debrief and also in that…

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
eggsisting

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.