Graceful shut down

John Dobbin
eklektikos delectus
3 min readMar 8, 2015

A wonderful closing down business letter

We received this lovely letter from the real estate agent that manages an investment property for us. It demonstrates a care and an ethic that is all too rare in today’s cutthroat business environment.

Dear John & Lisa

RE: SEMI — RETIREMENT

This email may come as a surprise to some of you but after much deliberation I have made the decision to sell the Banksia Realty rent roll and eventually close down Banksia Realty. I have talked about retirement for a few years now and have decided it really is my time. My husband and I are keen to do a lot more travelling both in our caravan and overseas and I just can’t do that and run a business at the same time

I have taken a lot of time in making this decision on who I can trust to take over the management for your property and this decision has not been taken lightly. I would like to retire in the knowledge that my owners, their properties and their tenants, are in the best hands and with someone who has a business with the same values and ethics as I have built my business on. With that in mind, I would like to introduce you to Pulse Realty. The Principal, Sue Rayner, with her very competent Property Management team, I feel, will be the perfect company to take over the Property Management portfolio.

Pulse Realty was established by the Rayner family in 2008, and are a boutique agency offering a wealth of knowledge and expertise in Residential Sales and Property Management. They, like me at Banksia Realty, made a conscious choice to remain a small, independent firm which they believe allows them to provide a superior, individual service and the flexibility to create a personalised plan to meet your needs.

Their office in the Murdoch Professional Centre on Robson Way, just off South Street, is surrounded by the medical and educational developments, enabling them to provide services to those in the southern corridor and beyond. They are still close to Bibra Lake and very familiar with the same areas as we have covered in our rent roll and sales, spanning from Mandurah to Joondalup. They are committed to achieving the best possible results for their clients. Most of their staff are also local residents, with extensive experience in all aspects of Real Estate.

Sue Rayner and I have known each other for over 20 years and have dealt with each other in conjunctional sales and real estate business many times over the years and we both work in a very similar fashion. I am sure you will be very happy with her and her team and like me, Sue will always be there to talk to if you have any queries what so ever.

We will endeavour to make this transition as smooth as possible. We will hand over all past records and archives of your property, tenants and you, the owners. They take over our computer program so they will have all your history on record. Please be assured, I will still be around for some months and will work closely with Sue and her team to be there to help out in any way. I will still be selling Real Estate for some time to come and once I have wound down Banksia Realty I too will go and sell for Pulse Realty and so will Kylie Phillips who is now selling for me. (There is honestly no other company we both wish to work for)

I will be in touch with you over the next month to finalise details and answer any questions you may have. Please do not hesitate to contact me in the meantime. You are also welcome to call Sue at any time. Sue is also happy to meet with you if you would like to talk to her in person or any of her team. In the meantime I am sure you would like to know more about Pulse Realty and their Property Management Team. Pulse Realty website address is http://pulserealty.com.au

The changeover will take effect from 16th April 2015

I would like to thank you very much for your continued support over the years, for this I am very grateful. I have very mixed emotions about this time in my life but we all have to get there at some point. However by selling the rent roll to Pulse Realty I feel happy in the fact you will be in very good hands and be comfortable with the change.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Sharyn Millar

--

--

John Dobbin
eklektikos delectus

I help organisations learn to adapt to complex environments