Linky Dink

Here are some things I liked recently. Maybe you will like them too.

Robert Martinez
Immortal Puppy
2 min readFeb 14, 2018

--

Here is a picture of a place I was at yesterday, because pictures are good for internet.
  1. Denmark attempts to measure public sector innovation. “…the most surprising finding is “the profound importance of political leadership”: the Centre found that politicians are involved in 69% of innovations.”
  2. A profile of the Lizard People on Vox. Thank you to Vox for documenting the history and culture of my people so lovingly. As a person of no clear racial affiliation (both my parents are mixed race), no religious tribe to speak of, an accent that varies wildly and to many people is unplaceable (is that a word?) and even some weird stuff about my address — colloquially, people would say I live in Woodbrook, but my postal address says St. James — I never seem to fit in comfortably anywhere¹. Except with my reptilian overlord brethren and sistren. I vibe with the Lizard People.
  3. Megan McArdle’s 12 rules for life are the best in the genre. I especially enjoyed this line: “Don’t just pay people compliments; give them living eulogies. Tell them exactly how great they are, in how many ways. Embarrass them.”
  4. The analytics have a long way to go, a lot more granularity needed to be sure, but so far things are looking good in terms of ad sustainability for the fledgling podcast industry. I’m personally really happy about this, because podcasts add a lot of value to my life – during my commute, while making breakfast, in the shower – and I want to see the people who do them make good money from them.
  5. Ben Thompson on Amazon is always a great read, but this one on Amazon Go and their “triple moat” especially so. As a policy and industry analyst, I aspire to understand the things I’m observing/studying as well as he does with the big tech companies, Amazon and Apple especially. And if I ever take up teaching economics again, this article will be required reading for my students.

Footnotes

  1. I ALSO HAVE A SECRETLY OUTSIZED INFLUENCE ON GLOBAL AFFAIRS. Hang on, never mind that. (Brothers, we are discovered. Flee immediately!)

--

--

Robert Martinez
Immortal Puppy

I’ve been accused of being a Lizard Person, not least by myself.