And So I Stayed…

Georgina Abuede
El Sereno Community Garden
2 min readSep 25, 2019

It was April, we met on a city sidewalk with lights and I knew I would stay…

You bought me pistachio ice cream

You gave me a smile

You told me if I blew bubbles, I would blow up. I laughed

And so I stayed…

You shared a coke with me

You listened to my problems

You gave me advice

And so I stayed…

You gave me lavender roses

You let me sleep on your chest

You gave me the covers when it was cold

And so I stayed…

Suddenly, I felt the cold wooden floor against my back; my shoulder was gone

Then your eyes were black, and your soul was gone

Then the lavender roses became blades

And your golden apologies became band-aides

And so I stayed…

I cleaned for you

I washed for you

I cooked for you

I sang for you

And so I stayed…

Then I saw the bruises on my stomach, my arms, my face

There was no mercy, no peace, no grace

Then I saw your face

and I knew my place

I obeyed, I had no say, I apologized

And so I stayed…

4 hours I laid

I cried and I stayed

When I opened my eyes,

I was no longer laying

There was no pain

I had no longer stayed

--

--