Bittersweet Symphony

Edwin Carreno
El Sereno Community Garden
5 min readOct 29, 2019

2019

“Toby can I borrow your time machine I need to go back to 1997?” I said.

“Derek I’m busy you’re interrupting my date with Judy,” said Toby.

Toby had a time machine and I wanted to use it for something very important. Once Toby and Judy were falling asleep, I snuck inside their home I found the machine buckled up and set the time for July 1, 1997 location Miami Beach, Florida. I pressed the button and the bright blue light began flashing and in no time I was in Miami.

Miami Beach 1997

When I got out of the time machine, I stepped on what looked like a Vogue book. I picked up the book and the headline was all about Versace. A man aggressively grabbed the book from me.

“GIVE ME MY BOOK BACK AND FUCK OFF!” said the man.

I quickly followed the guy and he dropped his ID. I picked up his ID and it read ‘Andrew Phillip Cunanan’. That name was quickly familiar he was Gianni Versace’s murderer due to jealousy and wanting attention and fame. I also knew he was a wanted fugitive who killed 4 other men prior to Versace.

July 3rd Andrew’s apartment

Andrew was staying at a nearby hotel and I knew he was homosexual so maybe I could seduce him into focusing on me not on Versace. I dressed up as a ‘doctor’ pretending to deliver medication. I knocked on Andrew’s door. He answered but he remembered my face and he dragged me inside.

“WHO ARE YOU!! WHY ARE YOU FOLLOWING ME!!” yelled Andrew.

“My name is Derek and I couldn’t help stop you to say how handsome you are,” I said.

“Really,” said Andrew. “I’ve never had the best luck in men,” he added.

He was really quick to seduce me by kissing me, touching me, and trying to rip my clothes off.

July 6th Andrew’s apartment

I noticed that there was a voicemail. Andrew was fast asleep so I tried to play the unheard message.

“I’M ASHAMED OF YOU MY SPECIAL SISSY BOY” said a male voice. Andrew woke up after I played the voicemail.

“SHUT THAT OFF I’M DONE WITH THAT SHITHEAD I USED TO CALL A FATHER!” yelled Andrew.

Andrew went back to sleep and I began to clean the apartment. As I was cleaning, I stepped on some paper and the paper said, “JULY 15TH: KILL GIANNI ANTONIO AND DONATELLA”

July 9th

Even though Andrew Cunanan was known for having a high IQ I know he cannot fool me. Andrew walked in he kissed me but I was resentful.

“Derek you look so handsome today,” said Andrew.
I backed away from Andrew.

“What did I do?” asked Andrew.

“You are so stupid Andrew” I growled.

“But But I didn’t do anything,” said Andrew.

“Really you think you can deceive me but I know you cannot beat me,” I yelled.

“You cannot do anything to me if you run you won’t hear the rest of the story,” snapped Andrew. “Try to do something to me. I DARE YOU!”.

“You’re just a toy Cunanan a little toy I like to play with,” I said. After I made that comment Andrew got emotional began to weep and I knew I was calling the damn shots.

July 15th Day of Gianni Versace’s Murder

I woke up early at 6:30am went to the beach I put on my doctor costume as a disguise even though I knew it could put my own life at risk.

8am

I saw Andrew heading towards Casa Casuarina aka Versace manor. I followed him as he had a gun in his hand and was ready to pull the trigger. Gianni Versace was trying to walk in when I quickly tackled Andrew to the ground took the gun away he didn’t fire a shot. As I was battling Andrew, he recognized my doctor costume and the scent of my cologne.

“WHAT ARE YOU DOING DEREK!” yelled Andrew.

“I TOLD YOU COULD NOT DECEIVE ME ANDREW AND YOU’RE JUST A TOY!” I yelled.

I told the gun away from Andrew, Gianni’s partner Antonio and sister Donatella came to see what was all the commotion about.

“WHAT’S GOING ON?” said Antonio.

“Antonio, Gianni, Donatella run RUN!” I yelled.

“DONATELLA call the police this is a fugitive” I added on.

Donatella called the police and they quickly pulled up to the manor blocked all the roads. The police grabbed Andrew quickly in handcuffs and arrested him. The Versace family approached me and hugged me for saving Gianni Versace’s life.

“Who are you young man?” said Gianni.

“I’m Derek and it’s an honor to meet you,” I said.

“Thank you so much Derek,” said Donatella.

I waved the Versace family goodbye I flipped off Andrew Cunanan and headed back to the time machine back into the future.

2019

I was back home I went to my house only to receive a voicemail from Toby and Judy.

“Derek I sent you something you gotta watch. Here’s a documentary that Judy and I watched and I think you may enjoy,” they said. I played the link and it was a documentary about Gianni Versace at the top of his game and Andrew Cunanan locked up after 20 years.

(START AT 1:30 BEFORE READING)

“Derek if you are watching this thank you so much for saving me Versace is more successful than ever thank you so much,” said Gianni Versace.

“Derek, Gianni is still going strong and I happily married him as soon as gay marriage was legalized because he is the love of my life,” said Antonio.

“Derek, my brother is happier than ever before living his life and if you’re watching this thank you,” said Donatella.

“DEREK IF I EVER FIND YOU I SWEAR TO GOD I WILL MAKE YOUR LIFE MISERABLE I WILL NEVER FORGIVE YOU! YOU RUINED MY HAPPINESS! WHEN I GET OUT OF PRISON YOU ARE GOING DOWN DEREK!” screamed Andrew in an interview behind bars.

After watching the documentary, I know Andrew will never find me and the Versace family will be living life as happier than ever. Cuz it’s a bittersweet symphony that’s life.

--

--