Game Over

Ana
El Sereno Community Garden
1 min readApr 26, 2020
Photo by Miguel Bruna on Unsplash

Masks off, lights on.

No more playing pretend, Barbie and Ken forced to reveal their true colors.

What was once here has left.

Leaving behind only a scent of Axe and a cold bed.

I cannot believe everything that was said, the words are stuck in my head like a song on repeat.

I feel alone and incomplete.

Wretched being runs before it can be discovered, but the tracks of hurt and hate have been stained on the carpet.

But who said that what has left will not return?

Sleigh the beast if it comes back, I never wanted it anyway.

And who said I did not like a cold bed?

I was never the one who was a hot head.

Cry me a river, tell me you went astray.

But guess what? The only thing left to say would be, “Go away.”

--

--