Distance

Angelica Ruiz
El Sereno Community Garden
2 min readMar 5, 2020

Time flies by when I am holding his hand

Time slows down when I have to leave and he has to stay

Time? Why are you like that?

Don’t you see the pain I feel?

Don’t run out so quickly

Hours without him, eternity

Weeks without him, eternity

Months without him, eternity

Please, time go faster, you are breaking my heart

Please bring us together once again

1,184 miles away, I love him

1,184 miles away, so far away

That is just a number

That is just an obstacle

Reminding myself that it is worth the wait

Reminding myself that time will unite us, I can’t wait to see his eyes

Just me and him; we got this

It isn’t a walk in the park yet; we got this

Distance is nothing when he means everything to me

Distance makes the heart grow fonder

Distance puts love to the test

If love can survive such a difficult task, love can survive a hurricane

One comfort I find is that we see the same moon

He is there, and I am here still, we see the same moon

Again, please hurry time

Again, I am strong, but sometimes break, like glass without him

I miss his comforting smile

I miss his warm long hugs

I miss him, badly, I feel my heart hurt

But it is ok time, take your time

But it is ok time; I will sit back and wait

I will defy the odds and wait

I am tolerant, and I will wait patiently

I love him, and nothing will change that

He is perfect for me, and nothing will change that

Distance is just a number

Distance is nothing, I love him regardless

--

--