Hurry Hurry Breathe

Avigail Noemi Vargas
El Sereno Community Garden
2 min readMar 23, 2020

The chaos and stress

It hits my head

We suffocate together on our beds

Feeling nothing but dread

Scared to see nothing, but red

Outside the walls

It is forbidden!

We can not live our lives

We are forced to be bedridden

Feeling detached from the air

Getting knaps in our hair

Attention! Attention! We have extended remote instruction

Please stay home

Please practice being physically alone

It’s the end of the week

Although it feels like a month

My anxiety reeks

Attention! Attention! The mayor has announced!

Stay at home from here on out!

It’s overwhelming

Being forced back into my hole

When I have felt this depression and whole experience before

Shove, shove, shove goes the government

But it’s for the sake of our safety

So how can I make my cage feel like home if the world is sick with me

Hurry, hurry, breathe!

School starts soon again, you must hurry and breathe

Hurry, hurry, please!

You have finals approaching

This is your chance

Don’t run away now

You must pass the class!

You only have two days now till class starts again

You must know we experience together, peers and friends

May we wish each-other luck and hold hands,

Right now is when we become friends

We’re in this together, we’re not alone

It just takes a reminder to remind us all

Professors, stay strong!

Students,stay strong!

Staff, stay strong!

And leaders, stay strong!

It’s safe to say that not much else can go wrong

When you feel like you’ve hit rock bottom

There’s nowhere else to go, but up

--

--

Avigail Noemi Vargas
El Sereno Community Garden

I’ve been writing since I was ten years old, and won at least two writing contests. I take passion in writing poems more often than writing narratives.