Love me? Love me not.

Francisco G
El Sereno Community Garden
10 min readOct 30, 2019

Day 1

Those boots walking past him, that is what caught his eye the most, not her slender body that swung hip to hip as she walked past as if the wind blows it would blow her over no, it was her boots those dumb fury winter boots worn in summer, as she walked past him he couldn’t help but stare, his heart skipping a beat.

“Just go talk to her,” his best friend Elvy tells him, as they are walking to lunch.

Moments past as if time stood still letting him watch her from afar.

“Huh? What no I can’t” he responds back not looking at his friend but at her.

“You obviously like her just go talk to her!”

That day seemed like it took forever to get over with, he daydreamed of her not even paying attention in class.

Day 8

There she goes again walking past him and his friend, not even acknowledging his existence swiping at her phone screen.

“What do you like about her?” Elvy asks.

“Honestly I don’t know I just like her” he responds after he takes a sip from his water bottle.

“Then go talk to her!” Elvy tells him persistently.

“I don’t know how” he responds one last time on the subject.

Day 25

He is walking alongside Elvy now, walking to the fast food place they go to every time for lunch laughing alongside his friend with a smile on his face then suddenly, She appears before him the girl that he has a crush on, he quickly looks to his friend Elvy, Elvy speeds off past them both leaving him in front of her.

“Uh…Hi” he says to her with nervousness in his voice.

“….Hello” she responds back just as nervous.

They both smile at each other awkwardly as if they were two children experiencing love for the first time, moments pass in awkward silence.

“Okay I gotta go,” she says.

“Oh right um..what’s your name by the way?” he asks quickly just as she’s walking off.

“Victoria” she responds.

“Nice to meet you I’m James,” he says with a smile on his face.

“You too gotta go now” she looks down at her phone.

“I didn’t see you last quarter are you new to school?” hoping for further conversation

“Just started gotta go bye,” she responds as quickly as she leaves.

He walks to the fast food place where his friend is waiting for him

“How did it go? Tell me everything!” Elvy asks.

Day 44

“I’m just going to let it be as is, if it happens then it happens if not then not,” he tells Elvy.

“You honestly deserve to be happy though and if she can bring you happiness go after her!” she tells him.

“Nah it’s fine, I’ve been without someone in my life this long I can go longer, but honestly once this quarter ends I’m gonna ask for her number,” he says with determination in his voice.

“You should!” Elvy says happily.

Day 62

The school quarter is coming to an end, today is the last day of school until three months from now school returns, James looks for Victoria hoping to ask for her phone number, her Instagram anything! But sadly to no luck, she was gone already, he lost his chance.

And his best friend Elvy has now graduated from this school.

Three months later — Restart Day 1

He enters school on time with music blasting in his ears he was that “Scholar” as she puts it, well not yet anyway…He goes to his first class of the day only to spot Victoria sitting alone in the classroom. He did not miss his chance, in fact, it was only just now unfolding how it was supposed to be.

“James!” she says with a smile on her face.

“Hey!” he quickly sits down next to her, “How have you been?”

“Pretty good just chilling you know?”

They spent most of the class talking back and forth showing each other pictures of themselves when they were younger, not even reading the book they were assigned. The bell rings.

“Oh gotta go!” she says, always on the move, it seemed like.

“Hey wait! I kind of want to continue this, do you got Instagram or something?” Not wanting the opportunity to pass him by this time.

“Yeah of course here,” she types her Instagram handle into his phone, Victoria quickly presses add.

He looks down at his phone and smiles, that smile was the first of many.

Her phone buzzes “So any plans today?” the message reads off from him.

His phone buzzes “Kind of but I’m not really looking forward to it, I gotta babysit”

“Oh that sucks, what about tomorrow?” he responds back.

“More babysitting,” she replies back.

They spend all night texting back and forth getting to know each other.

Day 8 Valentines Day

He sends a text “Do you think maybe I can take you to a movie tonight?”

“Sure come thru come to the park I’ll walk over” she replies back.

“Alright I’ll be there in an hour,”

“Sounds good.” This was the last message from her for a few hours.

“Hey, I’m here” “You there?” “Hello” An hour passed with him sitting in his car waiting for her.

“Hey sorry I’m stuck babysitting can you wait a little longer I’ll be there soon”

“Alright sounds good”

Two hours later

“If you don’t want to go you don’t have to,” he sends to her Instagram

“I feel like I’m being stood up,” he sends yet another message.

He drives off and thirty minutes later his phone buzzes

“I’m not trying to stand you up I’m just busy.”

He pulls over and looks at his phone disappointed and sends a single message back “Right”

“K.” K that single reply that just says it all.

Day 15

“I’m sorry can we retry this?” she sends to him

“Okay when?”

“Tomorrow morning, come pick me up and drive me to school,”

“Alright”

That night they talked all night until three AM knowing they have to wake up early just to get to school.

Day 16

“Hey you still getting me?” his phone buzzes at 7 AM.

“Yeah, I’m omw right now,” instantly replying back to her.

That morning he picked her up from her home and drove them both to breakfast before school, they went through the drive-thru, after they got the food he pulled over, they spent that time talking.

“I don’t really want to go to school,” she says.

“Yeah I get you, but I’d feel bad if I didn’t go”

“Oh really scholar,” she said playfully.

They looked at each other with smiles on their faces more comfortable around each other compared to how they used to be, looking into her eyes he bit his lip.

“Could I…Would it be alright if I kissed you?” he says still looking at her eyes memorizing every detail in them.

“I’m not trippin’” her single reply.

That morning they kissed for the first time.

Day 35

The relationship is going well, they feel at ease with each other, they spend all day and night texting each other back and forth, every time his phone goes off he feels a surge of happiness because he knows it’s her, and as a matter of fact, she even invites him over to her home to meet her parents or rather get from them “the talk” the type of talk that says “Hurt our daughter we hurt you.” It’s funny we live in this day and age and we still give this talk? Ridiculous.

“Mom, Dad this is James he’s my well…boyfriend,” she’s holding his hand with such a grip that just spells out nervousness.

“So you’re her boyfriend huh?” her Uncle says from the kitchen.

Her grip on his hand tightens.

“Yeah I am,” he responds back to her uncle as he comes to the living room to sit on the couch.

“Well I don’t care what you two do but if you hurt her I will kick your ass, She’s been through a lot and I don’t want her getting hurt again are we clear?”

Her grip slightly eases as James speaks back to this,

“I get it, she’s your loved one, hurting her is the last thing that I want to do,”

That day ended awkwardly, she walked him out leaving a kiss upon his lips, he felt that kiss still as he drove all the way back home, the feeling of her lips pressed against his making his very soul happy.

From this point onward it was the same, pick her up from home, take her to school have lunch together, show everyone they are a couple that couldn’t be broken apart. They went everywhere together theaters, dinner, walk around different shopping centers, anything her heart’s desire he would make it happen.

They spent every night texting back and forth, she would send him selfies, kissy faces, hell even video chatted with him throughout the day when they weren’t together they were inseparable, then something happened.

Day 53

“I want a break” his phone buzzes

“How come what happened I thought we were fine?”

“I’m just not used to a guy coming over and spending time with me it’s annoying,”

“Honestly what happened to us what did I do wrong? Before you use to text nonstop then it got shorter and shorter”

“Look I don’t want to talk anymore I gotta go.”

“Why though your not making any sense.”

No reply back. No reply back for hours or days.

Day 54

He decides to text his friend Elvy.

“Hey Elvy so me and Victoria broke up”

“OMG, what happened!!” an instant reply from her made him smile.

“A lot but she pretty much just gave me the “I’m not ready for a relationship” shit” he replies.

“I’m really sorry you deserve someone that appreciates you for you. When you told me a while back her family gave you the whole hurt our daughter we hurt you speech, Well you know what? I wanted to tell you I didn’t get to give her the “You hurt him I hurt you speech.””

“Lol aww really? That’s sweet thank you ❤”

“Of course!! You’re my friend dammit! You’ll find someone better than her trust me!!”

Day 70

His phone buzzes, it’s Victoria the girl that gave back his heart.

“I miss you, can you pick me up?” the text message reads off.

“To be honest I miss you too. Where did you wanna go??”

“Idk anywhere just come get me.”

She had him still, James is still wrapped around her finger, there isn’t anything he wouldn’t do for her at this point despite the breakup.

“Ight be there in a while I’ll call you when I’m there”

“Okay cool”

He arrived at her home he called but no answer, he called and called again seven times, seven times until she finally picked up.

“Hey I’m on the side,”

“Ok coming right now,”

An hour later he sat in his car patiently, no matter how hot it was in there he waited like a dog until finally, she came out of her house to his car.

“Hey sorry,” she says as she gets into his car

“Nah it’s cool so where did you wanna go?”

“How about dinner”

“Okay,” he replied back as he felt the level of awkwardness in the car, it was obvious he still loved her.

The night seemed to pass slowly but it was the perfect kind of slow it gave him the chance to be with her, the one thing he wanted most.

“I’m gonna be honest, I miss you and I want you back,” she tells him looking into his eyes.

He smiles “I miss you too…”

That night they kissed like the very first time before.

Back together yet again like nothing even happened, all words said and actions done, gone with, a fresh start with her again.

Day 81

“Hey Elvy, Me and Victoria are back together”

“If that makes you happy then I’m happy, I just don’t want you crying one of these days because of her,” Elvy replies back

The remainder of these days seemed to pass quickly they were happy yet again, or it seemed to him for the most part, however, Victoria’s replies got emptier and emptier one word replies to his giant paragraph texts. Deep down he misses the Victoria he had when he first met her the girl that would message him every hour of the day, the girl that would send him photos of herself constantly, but she changed so drastically.

Day 154

“I think we should break up I just don’t want to be in a relationship”

“I don’t understand, we were happy weren’t we?”

“I can’t do this right now bye”

Day 156

“I miss you, can you come over?” another message from her.

“Be there soon” his single reply

“K”

That night they got back together yet again.

They were happy for a time, this seems to be a cycle they can’t get out of.

Day 212

“Can we just be friends? And see where it goes I’m not ready for a relationship” she tells him.

“We can try.” He says with sadness in his voice.

“Can I have one last kiss from you?”

That night was the end of everything.

Day 234 9:22 PM

“I don’t know if I can be friends with you it just hurts too much, all those memories we shared together, tell me something…do I have a chance with you at all?” Tears welling in his eyes as he asks this.

“Maybe in two years from now but right now I don’t want you”

“So for two years your telling me I can’t hold you, kiss you do anything with you? I can’t do that. I love you but it’s clear you don’t love me.”

Day 234 11:47 PM

The taste of alcohol burning his throat, him crying at the bottom of a bottle sending a text to his friend Elvy the friend that was with him through all of this.

“I did exactly what you didn’t want me to do, cry over her.”

End.

--

--