Old Man, Please

Avigail Noemi Vargas
El Sereno Community Garden
2 min readMar 5, 2020
Photo by yerling villalobos on Unsplash

Lives an old man inside an orange painted house

I live in sorrow, and sadness lives within me

He had a wife yesterday, til 6:15 pm before Valentines day

No heartbeat nor smile presents itself on my wife

She has left the Earth, thus soon will I

Old man living in the orange house, please be happy

Old man, please be happy

Old man, please be free

Old man, don’t let my death be the reason you stay weep

I’m here to let you know, I am free

You’ve served your duty as my husband

You’ve kept me happy for years unimaginable

Now you’re done

Go on, and live your life

Go on, and let me be

What is my duty now that you’re gone

What is life worth with my wife gone

Create your own duty and find your happiness

But you were my happiness

I still am your happiness, you mean

I am still in your memories, your heart, and your dreams

Surely those would help you feel free

It’s not the same

But it’s still something, my love

I’m sorry I can not hug you, or touch you, or love you physically

It’s not your fault you died

Do me a favor and find yourself new happiness

Run a few miles for me, old man please

Run from sea to sea please, for me

I will run as far as my legs can go

When I find happiness, I will let you know

--

--

Avigail Noemi Vargas
El Sereno Community Garden

I’ve been writing since I was ten years old, and won at least two writing contests. I take passion in writing poems more often than writing narratives.