Reflection of Self

Kathryn Starnes
El Sereno Community Garden
2 min readSep 25, 2019

Those eyes are brown like the dirt of the roads

Those eyes are dull like a dying lamp

Those eyes are tired from night after night of working

Those eyes are broken from years of mistreatment

Those eyes are…mine.

That hair reacts to the slightest bit of water

That hair is a constant pain to comb

That hair is thicker than a bowl of oatmeal

That hair is difficult to tame

That hair is attention-seeking

That hair was black as the void of space

That hair is a faded flame; once red and vibrant, now dark brown and miserable

That hair is…mine.

This stomach was easy to fill

This stomach was easily satisfied

This stomach learned to hold still in place and look flat

This stomach suffered when eating wasn’t important

This stomach has issues with various foods

This stomach cannot hold more than a morsel

This stomach still knows how to appear flat

This stomach somehow has the beginnings of a six-pack?

This stomach is mine.

My skin is who I am and yet not

My skin has defined how I am seen and yet not

My skin causes me to question what I am and yet…

My skin once made me feel inferior and yet…

My skin is mine and I wouldn’t change it.

My mind reminds me that I could be better

My mind reminds me that I AM better

Better than how words made me feel

Better than how society views me

Better than how that devilish voice tries to convince me

Better than I could ever dream.

This body is a gift that I was tasked to care for.

This body is for me to cherish.

This body is mine and mine alone.

--

--