Saving Judy Garland

Edwin Carreno
El Sereno Community Garden
4 min readSep 28, 2019

“Name Tobias ‘Toby’ Underwood I’m ready to show my newest invention, a new time machine to go to the 1920s to experience alcohol and the United States around the time of the Roaring 20s.”

I set the date for Los Angeles 1924 to go to The Edison which was a bar in Los Angeles where many people hid and drank since alcohol was illegal during the 1920s. Also I would enjoy a nice dance with a 1924 flapper. I jumped into the machine pressed the ‘travel’ button and I saw a bright blue light flashing, the machine began to move I felt like I was inside a rollercoaster. And everything stood still completely still. When I got off the time machine something wasn’t right, I noticed that The Edison was open to the public.

“This doesn’t make any sense I thought bars were supposed to be hidden since alcohol wasn’t legalized yet.” I wondered.

Across the street I saw there was a building that read Metro Goldwyn Mayer Studios I knew instantly what that building was. MGM was a movie studio and they were on top of their game in the 1900s. I walked into the building and I asked a random person, “Excuse me I’m lost, and I just want to know what year are we in?”

“It’s 1943,” said the person.

I had a gut feeling that there could’ve been a malfunction in the time machine, but I didn’t expect it to fail on me. As I was trying to figure out what went wrong with the time machine, I overheard a woman weeping from a room.

“I don’t want to do this anymore,” cried the woman “I’m forced to do this every single day”.

I knocked on her door and I noticed her door had a star with the name ‘Judy Garland’ written on it. I was shocked because I knew Judy Garland as Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz and as a woman who suffered from a drug addiction and abuse by everyone.

The woman answered the door and the woman was none other than Judy Garland. I nearly passed out when I saw her because I couldn’t believe I was standing face to face with her.

“I don’t know who you are, but can you please give me some privacy,” said Judy.

I didn’t want to leave Judy by herself because I feared she would’ve taken a high dosage of drugs. Seeing Judy relentlessly weep made me change my motives for time traveling I wanted to try and save her life before her addiction gets her.

“Uh Judy what’s wrong?” I asked.

“I don’t want to do this anymore I wake up every-day to do movie after movie and I’m taking these medications to help me stay active and keep working,” said Judy.

“Do you hear yourself you’re so young and beautiful yet you’ve been relying on drugs to work and the more you take them, the more you’ll face death.” I said.

“I can’t stop mother and Mr. Mayer force me to,” Judy cried.

As I was trying to console Judy a man and a woman walked in angrily. The man was Mr. Mayer and Judy’s mother Ethel Gumm.

“JUDY GET GOING WE NEED TO START FILMING DID YOU TAKE THE GODDAMN MEDICATION!” yelled Mr. Mayer.

“Well at least the wardrobe make you look somewhat skinny and attractive” said Ethel

“Are you both crazy? YOU’RE GONNA KILL HER OF DRUGS SHE IS TOO BEAUTIFUL TO BE PUTTING UP WITH PSYCHO BITCHES LIKE YOU TWO!” I yelled.

Judy was shocked and eager to see me defending her that she decided to have the courage and began to hold her ground.

“Mother Mr. Mayer goodbye I am done with this place. I’ve been through hell and back and that pretty boy is trying to save my life,” said Judy.

“HOW DARE YOU! I CANNOT BELIEVE YOU PICK A RANDOM STRANGER OVER YOUR OWN MOTHER!” yelled Ethel.

“Even though I’ve known this stranger for a few minutes. THIS STRANGER CARES MORE ABOUT ME THAN YOU EVER DID YOU FORCED ME TO DO THIS AND I AM DONE WITH MGM!” said Judy confidently. “What is your name? You are my hero,” she added.

“I’m Toby and you are a beautiful woman who deserves a lot better I’ll invite you to my home,” I said. “This is what I used to get here and it’ll take me home” I replied.

“Goodbye forever mother! Fuck you and I hope you rot in hell,” said Judy.

Judy and I hopped into the time machine and we both smiled through the flash of the machine we arrived back into the future we were standing outside my apartment.

“Where are we?” said Judy

“Judy welcome to a new beginning because we’re staring a new, different, and healthy lifestyle,” I replied. As I was comforting her, her hand had reach mine, her lips were close, and I leaned over and shared a passionate kiss with Judy Garland and I knew we were somewhere over the rainbow.

--

--