She’s Growing Up

Ashley Sanchez
El Sereno Community Garden
2 min readSep 26, 2019
Photo by Krzysztof Kowalik on Unsplash

The time in a day is quick to flee.

I remember hearing the pitter-patter of her light up Sketchers running quickly.

And when I looked up, I saw my whole world standing in front of me.

I carried her onto my lap and waited for her to tell her story.

“…And then, Maya kicked the ball to the slide.”

“And then, I ran to go get it.”

“And then, I fell.”

“And then, Maya had to go get me a bandage.”

“And then, I felt better.”

I had lost track of the countless times she repeats those words: “and then.”

I got so caught up in the fact that I’ll never have this time again.

The time in a year is quick to flee.

I remember holding her tiny hand when crossing the street.

How she squeezed mine when she’d trip over her feet.

Knowing she’d focus more on the story she was telling me.

“So Maya had to go to the nurse’s office today.”

“So I was left alone in class, but it was okay.”

“So I went to sit with Kelly, to laugh and play.”

“So I made Brandon move out of the way.”

The words that she spoke out of her mouth were music to ears.

Knowing this may never happen again, brought me to tears.

The time in a decade is quick to flee.

I remember having to go up the stairs quickly.

Having only a short amount of time before she gets busy.

Asking her how her day was, hoping she’d speak elaborately.

“How was your day?”

“It was fine.”

“Was the math test as hard as you thought?”

“It was fine.”

“Did you enjoy the lunch I packed for you today?”

“It was fine.”

I made sure to keep count of every word she spoke per line.

3 words might seem minimal, but it was fine.

The time in life is quick to flee.

You never really know when people will leave.

Looking back at all the clues to see what you didn’t perceive

What if it was you and you were being naive

I wonder if she’s married now

“Better she finds love that she’s willing to allow”

I wonder if she has a kid

“I hope she knows how to raise them better than you did”

I wonder if she still remembers me

“She remembers how you didn’t give her space to breathe”

You make friends with the voices inside your head

“Did you really live a good life, if your daughter is not by your deathbed”

--

--