Shoes

Carlos Guillen
El Sereno Community Garden
2 min readNov 20, 2019

For most people their favorite shoes are by those who they idolize or admire.

Some may want the shoe’s of their favorite artist or athlete.

Shoes at retail value are expensive but nothing insanely out of reach when they release. It’s the resale value that will leave a gaping hole in one’s wallet if a person were to purchase limited designer shoes.

For myself when I wanted a pair of shoes, I would acquire them “by whatever means necessary”.

I assume this unmatched desire for shoes is what got me in this hell hole.

This outrageous eagerness did not always take over my actions.

Before when shoes were expected to drop, I would wake up early to wait in line with others who wanted the same kind of shoes that I did.

While I waited in line I constantly kept updating my phone in an attempt to buy the shoes I longed for online.

After both attempts failed, I found myself in a constant cycle of disappointment and jealousy that only would only grow and grow after each attempt.

Thoughts of stealing the shoes began to flood my mind.

I could hear the shoes speaking to me, “just break the glass grab me and run.”

I started to be taunted by the shoes.

The possession of shoes at my fingertips was all that I had been yearning for.

Eating meals and drinking water became merely an option in comparison of obtaining such shoes.

I reached a point where I could no longer take the ridicule from the shoes, so I gave in and conformed to their idea.

I would easily kill another than deal with myself not having a pair of shoes that had been in the back of my mind for years.

And sticking a person behind the Round 2 shoe store on Melrose is exactly what I had done to comfort my mind and soul of finally being able to surround my feet in the shoes I could only dream of having, Kanye’s Yeezy Red Octobers.

As I had been spotted of the crime I had committed I thought to myself, “dare I sprint and risk scuffing these shoes?” so I walked and took in the moment of walking with the shoes, I had a smile from ear to ear the whole way.

Even as I was tackled to the ground by two officers of the law, I had no regrets.

In my last words before I am taken over by a shocking feeling throughout my body, the worst part of my punishment was being forced to walk with no shoes to this chair but it was all worth it.

--

--