Ten Things I Love

Kimberly Miranda
El Sereno Community Garden
1 min readSep 5, 2019
Photo by Ben Waardenburg on Unsplash

I’ve been waiting

for my 2 sausage egg McMuffins

and a medium orange juice

for as long as it takes

to chip the black paint off my fingernails

In retrospect I am impatient

But I am longing for some air conditioning

and a quiet place

My heart soars as they call my number

With the bag in my hand

and my nails freshly chipped,

I tune to the sound of Tame Impala through my earphones

to make my journey fulfilled

On my way home I stop

for the most colorful arrangement my eyes can wander to

Pink, red, yellow, white,

Maybe I’ll pick one to keep me company

Have I cheered up yet?

I don’t look up but down to myself

At the dark blue of my hair

Resting past my shoulders

over my Arctic Monkeys t-shirt

And I smile

--

--