The American Dream

Martin Fuentes
El Sereno Community Garden
2 min readDec 3, 2019

The American Dream, what is it?

Is it something we can’t see, or something that isn’t visible till later on?

We are constantly reminded of it when we look at social media

Fancy clothes, fast sports cars, fun trips overseas

The American Dream, is it fortune?

The American Dream, where is it?

Is there somewhere we are supposed to look for?

We go to work every day, we go to school every day, we go home every day

Our lives in a constant linear cycle

Is this the American Dream?

The American Dream, who is it?’

Can it be you? Can it be me? Heck, can it be everyone?

We hope so, that’s why we do what we do every day

We all hope to be the American Dream, be an example of it

But really, who is the American Dream?

The American Dream, when will it happen?

Will it happen when we’re older, like middle age or retirement?

Is retirement the time will I can finally experience it

Probably we are supposed to be working on it the whole time

To mark my calendar, when is the American Dream happening?

The American Dream, why do we have it?

I mean it’s not a guarantee we are gonna obtain it

Is it to entice people to come to America and work?
Or is it to entice people to come to America

And visit the sunny beaches and desert roads?

As someone whose parents worked hard to achieve the American Dream,

Throughout their lives, there have been various struggles here and there

But even then, there have been many uplifting and rewarding moments

There have been times where we believed we completed the American Dream

But I think we still have a long way to go. I know I do.

I’m currently working on the American Dream.

I have seen different versions from many different people

I have seen the ones I like and the ones I don’t like

Now, I am choosing my path to go for MY American Dream

Wish me luck

--

--