The Golden Flower

Avigail Noemi Vargas
El Sereno Community Garden
2 min readFeb 20, 2020

Parading through the cement pathway

past the walls of bodies,

a small bush with a Golden Flower called and halted my parade

Hello, the flower said, no need to be sad

But I am not sad, so why does it call to me

You are not sad yet

Yet?

Why are you speaking to me little golden flower

Because you forget to smell my brethren

You forget to look at me

Please, Slowly smell the soil sleeping beneath your feet

Admire the adjectives of my family

Adjectives of me: golden, calm, vibrant, and free

And why should I

The men in suits, the men in suits, they walk out from your college

They leave their house of knowledge, without admiring me

Smell the sea sailing smoothly in the trees

Feed the birds, tweeting and feeding by your house of “learn”

Join the grass grazing on the floor, rave with them for an hour or more

Please!

Appreciate me for existing near you, because when you don’t I feel blue

The men in suits forgot about me, and now I’m the only golden flower

You’re alone, not free

Exactly, I’m alone in my bushy home

Admire me now before you feel sad

I am here to comfort you in your stressful journeys

I will never forget you

I appreciate you for comforting me

and halting my parade

--

--

Avigail Noemi Vargas
El Sereno Community Garden

I’ve been writing since I was ten years old, and won at least two writing contests. I take passion in writing poems more often than writing narratives.